Skip to content

Helping Canadians with Personal Finance Since 2006

Rich Brother Rich Sister Book Review and Giveaway

Robert Kiyosaki is at it again with another book titled Rich Brother Rich SisterTwo Different Paths to God, Money and Happiness.  Did you know that Mr. Kiyosaki’s book “Rich Dad Poor Dad” has been on the New York Best Sellers list for the past 7 years?  I’m one of the many who have read Rich Dad Poor Dad and although it doesn’t explain a lot about “how” to get rich, it does have a lot of value in explaining how rich people think.

About the Authors

Rich Brother Rich Sister is written by two people, Robert Kiyosaki and his sister Emi Kiyosaki.  Most of us know who Robert Kiyosaki is.  He is the author of international best seller of the Rich Dad Poor Dad series of books along with being a real estate investor.  However, who is Emi Kiyosaki?  Emi took an entirely different path than Robert.  While Mr. Kiyosaki took the path of financial greatness, Emi followed a spiritual path and was ordained (by the Dalai Lama) as a Buddhist nun.

What is Rich Brother Rich Sister about?

This book is a little different than Robert Kiyosaki’s other books where Rich Brother Rich Sister is more of a biography and personal development guide than a “financial book”.  It contains many life lessons that I think that we can all learn from.

It starts off with what Robert and Emi Kiyosaki were like as children and how they grew up during World War II.  The story evolves into how they both went on their own separate paths and the struggles that they went through to get to where they are today.  Each chapter contains perspectives from both Robert and his sister.

What I found refreshing was that both authors humbly admit their faults and what they have learned from them.  For example, with Robert, he admitted to having a dark side along with being discharged from the U.S Army.  Emi, she went through many struggles in life (both financial and health) which mainly stem from her trying to find her path in life.

For those of you who have already read “Rich Dad Poor Dad” or the “Cash Flow Quadrant“, this book helps put depth into what Robert Kiyosaki preaches and why he believes so strongly in what he does.  If you’re anything like me, you’ve questioned if you’re doing what you’re supposed to be doing.  This book helps answer that question in describing how two siblings found their path to a fulfilling life and their lessons on how they both got there.

Want a Free Copy?

  • Simply leave a comment and you’ll automatically be entered in the draw for a free copy.
  • Please only 1 comment entry / person (please enter a valid email address).
  • Only those with a North American mailing address may enter (publisher rules, sorry).
  • Contest will end Thursday 5pm EST Jan 22, 2009 and the winner announced shortly afterward!

If you would like to read more articles like this, you can sign up for my free weekly money tips newsletter below (we will never spam you).

131 Comments

  1. Terry on January 20, 2009 at 9:27 am

    Sign me up.



  2. Writer's Coin on January 20, 2009 at 9:36 am

    Anything written by Kiyosaki typically turns me off, but his sister sounds pretty interesting. I’m in.



  3. David V on January 20, 2009 at 9:41 am

    I read the Rich Dad book and while it isn’t a book I recommend to friends who want to learn about finances, anytime I read a book I do tend to learn something.



  4. Elina on January 20, 2009 at 9:43 am

    Pick me pick me!!!!



  5. Julie on January 20, 2009 at 10:04 am

    I’m intrigued, and want to know more about Emi.



  6. newbie on January 20, 2009 at 10:18 am

    Sounds like it would be an interesting read; two siblings “enriching” their lives in different ways.



  7. Money Minder on January 20, 2009 at 10:26 am

    I love a free book! Pick me!



  8. KC on January 20, 2009 at 10:43 am

    Count me in!

    Thanks!



  9. Mark on January 20, 2009 at 10:46 am

    Thanks!

    Kiyosaki’s columns on Yahoo Finance are nice and topical too.



  10. Chris on January 20, 2009 at 11:00 am

    I’d like to add this to my collection of rich dad books.



  11. Alyson on January 20, 2009 at 11:02 am

    Sounds like a fascinating read!



  12. Ringo on January 20, 2009 at 11:02 am

    I wish I would as rich as my sisters too, after reading this book!



  13. canucktuary on January 20, 2009 at 11:08 am

    Sounds like an interesting read!



  14. cbez on January 20, 2009 at 11:13 am

    Looks interesting!



  15. Braiden Harvey on January 20, 2009 at 11:13 am

    Rich Dad is a great series, I would love to add it to my collection.

    Thanks

    Braiden Harvey



  16. JasonM on January 20, 2009 at 11:14 am

    I have always wanted to try the board game.



  17. Chuck on January 20, 2009 at 11:16 am

    I’m always up for a good read



  18. Neerajn Singhal on January 20, 2009 at 11:49 am

    Seems like a nice read. Please count me in.



  19. Sauce on January 20, 2009 at 11:50 am

    I’m in…



  20. Joel on January 20, 2009 at 11:54 am

    seems like an interesting read – I am happy to read free books.



  21. Tish on January 20, 2009 at 11:57 am

    My goal this year is to educate myself by increasing the number of good books I read each month…this one will be on that list.



  22. Christian on January 20, 2009 at 11:59 am

    I did enjoy reading the the Rich Dad series books. Especially the original book. I learn better when I read stories and life experiences and Robert does a really good job in writing all of that. I think his main message from most of his books is that, if you want to get rich, you should build a business and start investing. Sometimes I feel that the message is the same for all his books. Same message, different words. I hope this one brings something fresh.

    But he’s good at selling, because I am going to buy it anyways.. If I don’t win it.

    Christian



  23. Jimmy on January 20, 2009 at 12:00 pm

    sounds like a good book to read!



  24. nobleea on January 20, 2009 at 12:01 pm

    I don’t want the book, because Kiyosaki is a hack. I’m interested if the stories told in this one (I assume his sister can keep him honest) match up with the ‘stories’ he tells in his other novels.



  25. Brian on January 20, 2009 at 12:07 pm

    I have appreciated the insites of how “successful” people think and would enjoy reading about the events and history that helped to shape such a gifted man.



  26. RJ on January 20, 2009 at 12:08 pm

    Free book sounds good to me!!



  27. Swati Jain on January 20, 2009 at 12:09 pm

    Here is for the opportunity to own my first finance related book.



  28. Gloria on January 20, 2009 at 12:15 pm

    Thanks for the opportunity! Sounds like an interesting book.



  29. Rose on January 20, 2009 at 12:16 pm

    I find Mr. Kiyosaki very interesting and I would love to read more of him and to find out more of his sister. It’s amazing how he took the road to money wealth and his sister took the road to spiritual wealth. Please count me in to win this interesting, alluring book.



  30. Hemen Modi on January 20, 2009 at 12:18 pm

    I like ‘Rich Dad..’ because of the fundamental financial principals explained in a very simple language…hoping that this book has something more to it.



  31. real money on January 20, 2009 at 12:23 pm

    count me in.



  32. Les on January 20, 2009 at 12:26 pm

    I liked the Rich Dad books (you just have to take it with a grain of salt) so I guess this one is worth a read.



  33. amyt on January 20, 2009 at 12:36 pm

    Thanks for the opportunity, it looks like it would be a great book to win!



  34. The Financial Blogger on January 20, 2009 at 12:46 pm

    coool!
    do you know when they will edit “rich grand son” ? hehehe



  35. Mark Wolfinger on January 20, 2009 at 12:50 pm

    I’m amazed that people love the Rich Dad series.

    It’s all hype. It’s all ‘rah,rah rah.’

    There’s no substance; it’s all inspirational.

    Mak



  36. Steve on January 20, 2009 at 1:03 pm

    I am interested!



  37. Gates VP on January 20, 2009 at 1:04 pm

    So Kiyosaki has a sister who’s a nun? Really? Man what a convenient life… first the guy has the perfect set of “fathers” and now it’s like his family is just popping in all of the right directions too. I’m just waiting for “Rich Dad, Richer Kid” (OK, I’m claiming the copyright on that right now :)

    For anyone who hasn’t read “Rich Dad, Poor Dad”, it’s definitely a “library rental”. It’s really sad to me that it has been a best seller for so long.

    Look, people don’t want to be “rich”, they want to be “financially independent”. People don’t want to “retire”, they want to be “financially independent” so they don’t have work any more (or as much). We don’t want “money”, we want the quality of life that money brings.

    For a more lucid and practical book about this concept, see “Killing Sacred Cows”.



  38. Steve in Montreal on January 20, 2009 at 1:17 pm

    Looks like an interesting read. Sign me up as well.



  39. Izzoshady on January 20, 2009 at 1:17 pm

    Thanks for the review

    Look forward to reading this



  40. Daniel Morel on January 20, 2009 at 1:18 pm

    Is Obama the secret word?



  41. tom on January 20, 2009 at 1:21 pm

    sign me up and keep up the good work!



  42. Dean Barclay on January 20, 2009 at 1:26 pm

    Probably a good book …i’ve enjoyed his other ones.



  43. jesse on January 20, 2009 at 1:43 pm

    I’m looking forward to a book that sounds inspiring but leaves you just as confused as before you picked it up. Lots of interesting concepts but no meat on the bones.



  44. piper on January 20, 2009 at 1:56 pm

    pick me please. God bless Obama.



  45. Finance Matters on January 20, 2009 at 2:00 pm

    I’m in!



  46. csplice on January 20, 2009 at 2:17 pm

    I’m in!



  47. karash on January 20, 2009 at 2:17 pm

    I’m intrigued, and want to know more about Emi.



  48. Chris on January 20, 2009 at 2:19 pm

    also in for a free copy!



  49. karash on January 20, 2009 at 2:25 pm

    I am curious about the ‘rich sister’ s philosophy..!



  50. Bonnie on January 20, 2009 at 2:29 pm

    I would love to read the book, thanks!



  51. pj on January 20, 2009 at 2:32 pm

    looks good



  52. Erick on January 20, 2009 at 2:38 pm

    Sign me up!



  53. Brad on January 20, 2009 at 2:45 pm

    I’ve read Rich Dad, Poor Dad a time or two but if you asked me what I learned, I’m not sure I could tell you. Guess I need a free book so I can read it over and over and over to really learn his concepts. :)



  54. Eric on January 20, 2009 at 2:46 pm

    That looks like a good read. Consider me entering.



  55. ryan on January 20, 2009 at 2:52 pm

    VICTORY!



  56. Vicki on January 20, 2009 at 3:16 pm

    I’ve never read anything by either of them even though I have heard of Robert Kiyosaki. The journey sounds interesting!



  57. TomW on January 20, 2009 at 3:22 pm

    Let’s face it: the Anglo-Saxon financial and economic models are broken. Whatever understanding the Kiyosakis might contribute is welcome.



  58. Aman@BullsBattleBears on January 20, 2009 at 3:24 pm

    great promotion for a very informative book! good luck to all!!



  59. Maiku on January 20, 2009 at 3:36 pm

    Interesting. I’ve actually put off reading Kiyosaki books before because I’ve heard many negative reviews and the small parts I have read seemed a little overly focused on money rather than developing a life you can respect.

    But now with the input of his sister, this sounds like it may give a lot more detail about whether the “rich life” is the way to go rather than how to get there.



  60. Stephen Winters on January 20, 2009 at 3:37 pm

    Nice addition to the other Kiyosaki books



  61. jim on January 20, 2009 at 3:46 pm

    i’ve read rich dad poor dad & learned a great deal about money.i read all of the time & would like to win this book for my Library & to share with others



  62. viennatech on January 20, 2009 at 4:09 pm

    Having read many of his other books, this should offer more insight. Thanks!



  63. Jineshwar singh on January 20, 2009 at 4:18 pm

    It sounds an interesting read written by siblings so different!



  64. Michael on January 20, 2009 at 4:39 pm

    I have read Rich Dad, Poor Dad and I am interested in reading this as well.



  65. Jatinder Singh on January 20, 2009 at 4:44 pm

    sign me up!



  66. Krys on January 20, 2009 at 4:48 pm

    Count me in! I liked the Rich Dad Poor Dad book, as it helped open my eyes to the real road to riches.

    Thanks!



  67. Naveen on January 20, 2009 at 4:51 pm

    Sign me up…



  68. Ney on January 20, 2009 at 5:01 pm

    I really liked the Rich Dad Poor Dad book. Although I’m expecting something very different from this one, it also seems pretty interesting.



  69. rachel on January 20, 2009 at 5:20 pm

    count me in.



  70. Oil Baron on January 20, 2009 at 5:20 pm

    I’ve read many of his books, but I’m not terribly impressed with his approach. Way back when I first read one of his books, it was the first time I’d been introduced to multiple streams of income. I’m glad for learning about that. His books always left me with negative feelings though. After reading what he had to say, I think I’d prefer to go my own way rather than use his methods.

    I found that John Reed had some interesting findings on Kiyosaki and his books. He wrote quite a lengthy review. He’s a journalist at heart, and writes reviews of authors in the real estate space.
    http://www.johntreed.com/Reedgururating.html



  71. Lakedweller on January 20, 2009 at 5:27 pm

    For some people education is second to motivation. Putting money into the perspective of livng a good life is a timely topic. I’d appreciate the perspective of this book.



  72. Yaw on January 20, 2009 at 5:33 pm

    Looks like a great book, I’ll probably give it a read!



  73. Shanny on January 20, 2009 at 5:46 pm

    I’d love to have this book!



  74. elman on January 20, 2009 at 5:51 pm

    I’d like a copy please



  75. Patricia on January 20, 2009 at 6:12 pm

    Thanks for the introduction to this book, sounds like it would be a very interesting read. Thanks as well for another great giveaway.



  76. Miguel on January 20, 2009 at 6:20 pm

    I agree with post #70–he has made his money from books and from what I understand not so much from real estate. I always like a good finance read, though, and keep the thinking critical when you read anything.



  77. geoff on January 20, 2009 at 6:24 pm

    looks interesting…



  78. Jinny on January 20, 2009 at 7:10 pm

    Count me in! :)



  79. Tyler Burge on January 20, 2009 at 7:11 pm

    I would love the get a free copy.



  80. Kinny on January 20, 2009 at 7:29 pm

    Sounds great! Count me in!

    Thanks =)



  81. DG on January 20, 2009 at 7:58 pm

    Count me in!

    Thanks,
    Dan.



  82. amit on January 20, 2009 at 8:07 pm

    Unlike most readers, I am quite inspired by Rich Dad, Poor Dad. It gave me a whole new perspective about how to change my thinking towards my financial independence. There are lot of things to learn from his stories and from his books.

    Please count me in for the draw.



  83. Chelsea on January 20, 2009 at 8:20 pm

    Sounds like a great read – hope I win a copy!



  84. Mark on January 20, 2009 at 8:30 pm

    This book sounds like another great addition to the collection!



  85. Jeff on January 20, 2009 at 8:40 pm

    Thanks for your info. I’d like to be entered into the draw as well!



  86. Amon Anus on January 20, 2009 at 8:47 pm

    Could be an interesting read!



  87. Ronny on January 20, 2009 at 8:51 pm

    count me in!



  88. Jason Lee on January 20, 2009 at 8:56 pm

    This could be an interesting read. I have heard great things of the rich dad poor dad series. Having just been to a “Learn to be rich ” seminar put on by the rich dad organization, it left a really sour taste in my mouth. I hope this read wil reaffirm his teachings.



  89. EDWARD CHONG on January 20, 2009 at 8:58 pm

    IF IT IS LIKE HIS PREVIOUS BOOK:” RICH DAD POOR DAD” , ROBERT KIYOSAKI HAS ANOTHER BEST SELLER.

    I LIKE THE WAY ROBERT GOES TO HIS PERSONAL LIFE EXPERINCES TO EXPLAIN, HOW THE SEEDS OF FUTURE SUCCESS ARE PLANTED AND NUTURE FOR FUTURE HARVEST OR SUCCESS IN HIS LATER LIFE.



  90. Marianne O on January 20, 2009 at 9:23 pm

    I wonder if this book will impress me more than the Cashflow quadrant did. Some good ideas there, but it was mostly filler. Who knows, maybe this will be radically different.



  91. theFatLossAuthority on January 20, 2009 at 9:24 pm

    Read one of his books earlier on and it helped me understand most things about Real Estate.



  92. Linda on January 20, 2009 at 10:33 pm

    I enjoyed “Rich Dad, Poor Dad” greatly. It was one of the first five books of this genre that I’d read, and I’d found it so engaging that I burned through it in a day, enjoying it thoroughly. It now has a place on my bookshelf. I found “Cash Flow Quadrant” less entertaining and more like a workbook; thus, not on my shelf. Thanks for hilighting “Rich Brother/Rich Sister”! I’m looking forward to it already. (Even if I have to buy my own copy.)

    Keep up the good work – I read you daily.



  93. Maria V on January 20, 2009 at 10:43 pm

    Sounds like an interesting read.



  94. Pepe on January 20, 2009 at 11:03 pm

    Count me in.



  95. Bob on January 20, 2009 at 11:08 pm

    Sounds like a good read. Count me in!



  96. Davina on January 20, 2009 at 11:17 pm

    I am interested!



  97. Jordan on January 20, 2009 at 11:27 pm

    I enjoyed rich dad, poor dad, count me in!



  98. Dustin on January 20, 2009 at 11:33 pm

    This sounds like an interesting book!



  99. Kathryn on January 20, 2009 at 11:41 pm

    Wow, 99 comments and counting. Count me in.



  100. skippy on January 20, 2009 at 11:47 pm

    Just learning to get back on my financial feet, and every little bit helps. I’m in on the contest, I could use a good read.



  101. skippy on January 20, 2009 at 11:49 pm

    I need all the financial help I can get, please draw my name. BTW, thanks for the great blog



  102. clalc on January 21, 2009 at 12:01 am

    It would be great to read his new book ! Count me in.



  103. Al on January 21, 2009 at 12:37 am

    Sounds like a great book to read!!



  104. Wanda on January 21, 2009 at 12:39 am

    Please count me in – thank you!



  105. Kanggadin on January 21, 2009 at 12:58 am

    It looks pretty interesting. I am in. Thanks.



  106. skippy on January 21, 2009 at 1:16 am

    Man, I sure could use some financial help. I think this book is a step in the right direction.



  107. Flora on January 21, 2009 at 3:31 am

    sounds like an interesting book.. would love to win it =)



  108. Elisha on January 21, 2009 at 4:19 am

    I read Rich Dad Poor Dad and gained a new perspective.



  109. Brad Mottashed on January 21, 2009 at 5:02 am

    Im in.



  110. John on January 21, 2009 at 9:09 am

    As a father of 3 with a single income, I often feel locked onto the path of financial gain, of being a good provider. I often wonder if I chose the right path, or if living with less, but a more spiritual focus would have been a better choice. This sounds like a book that would be very much in tune with my thoughts.



  111. Debt_Free_in_5 on January 21, 2009 at 9:36 am

    Count me in



  112. Jordan on January 21, 2009 at 10:26 am

    Please enter me in the draw.
    Thank you.



  113. Kryton on January 21, 2009 at 10:53 am

    I’m in. Thanks



  114. Humbaba on January 21, 2009 at 11:08 am

    For a scathing review of this guy see http://johntreed.com/Kiyosaki.html



  115. So on January 21, 2009 at 11:45 am

    1 in 115 chance. :)



  116. Dividend Growth Investor on January 21, 2009 at 2:01 pm

    Sign me up :-)



  117. Nick on January 21, 2009 at 2:16 pm

    Thanks for the opportunity. I’m in!



  118. Sarah on January 21, 2009 at 3:45 pm

    Thanks for running the give-away! Looks like an interesting read.



  119. Caryn on January 21, 2009 at 5:26 pm

    Wow! Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experiences with us. I am already learning so much! It would be nice to have the Rich Brother, Rich Sister book. Whether I win or not, I enjoy reading and learning about your journey towards financial freedom.



  120. Earl on January 21, 2009 at 5:40 pm

    I always read your blog. Thanks!



  121. Reg on January 21, 2009 at 8:09 pm

    Thanks for the giveaway; would love to win the copy!



  122. Andrea on January 21, 2009 at 8:17 pm

    This sounds like a fantastic book!



  123. Eric Meunier on January 22, 2009 at 1:38 am

    Sounds like another good book from Robert.



  124. Peter B on January 22, 2009 at 2:45 am

    This book would go great next to The Wealthy Barber on my book shelf.

    Peter



  125. slickster on January 22, 2009 at 8:39 am

    sign me up….anything free, sounds good to me!



  126. kasm on January 22, 2009 at 1:19 pm

    Thanks – sounds interesting



  127. Awcool on January 22, 2009 at 2:12 pm

    I did read his first book and I agree that, even though it frustrated me in that he didn’t provide any details on how to get rich today, it definitely provided me with a new way to look at finances, assets, investing and cashflow.

    Although I don’t expect this to provide me with any additional financial knowledge, I’m still curious to read about how two siblings lead two completely different lives.



  128. Melanie Samson on January 22, 2009 at 3:20 pm

    Looks like an interesting book.



  129. David Pontello on January 22, 2009 at 3:46 pm

    Robert Kiyosaki must be doing something right, as he tends to completely polarize people. I think his books are simply meant to get people to change their attitudes about and habits around money, as opposed to being “how tos”. Anyways, hope I win a copy of this book! Thanks.



  130. Bridget on January 22, 2009 at 4:22 pm

    I am so totally a winner. =O)



  131. alex on January 22, 2009 at 4:28 pm

    just discovered your blog from searching SM. worth reading



Scroll To Top
0 Shares
Tweet
Share
Pin
Email