I’ve asked QCash, the young and retired millionaire, to write a book review on No Hype – The Straight Goods on Investing Your Money.  Here is a great summary that he came back with.  Be sure to check out the giveaway at the end of the review!

Thanks to Million Dollar Journey for giving me the opportunity to publish my first book review. Let me begin by saying that I enjoy reading books about finances at all different levels, from the beginner to the technical investor. I hope that every time I read a new book, I at least find something new or improve my knowledge even slightly.

Now on to the book: No Hype – The Straight Goods on Investing Your Money by Gail Bebee.

The book is described as a primer for those who are wish to invest beyond the standard bank offered mutual funds and GICs we all seem to start with and need some guidance on the range of investing. The author calls this book “the book I couldn’t find when I began to seriously focus on investing.”

It is different from a beginners guide and it has to be taken in the context of someone is invested but knows they want to invest differently but is not sure why or how.

About the Author

According to the book:

Gail Bebee, B.Sc., M.Eng., is an independent investor. She has mastered the finer points of investing through completion of the Canadian Securities Course with honours, hands-on investing experience, membership in the Tycoons Investment Club and extensive reading.

About the Book

I think that the fact that the book defines itself as a primer for those who “want to get serious” about investing differentiates it from “a beginners guide.” However, Gail is certainly willing to start from the very beginning, talking about the power of compounding and the rule of 72 all the way up to technical analysis of stocks.

I personally found the way she presented the information in 26 bite-sized, yet comprehensive chapters organized in 7 sections useful and an intuitive progression.

While she touched on real estate as an investment vehicle, it was lumped in with real estate, commodities and collectibles. I liked her comment not to confuse your home with an investment in real estate, but her total real estate advice was to stick with REITs. Personally, I feel real estate could have been a chapter in and of itself.

Pros/Cons

I liked her title of chapter 17 – “Alternative Investments – Investments or Gambling” where she warns readers away from flavours of the month and to stick with fundamentals. I have been an advocate of that for many of my less savvy investor friends for years.

The only fault I would have with this book is that for someone offering “no hype”, she is not afraid to provide her own personal opinion on the suitability or appeal of certain investments, but given her experience I would be prepared to take most of her advice. With that said, she is not an advocate of income trusts for reasons she spells out in her book and I would personally disagree with her about certain types of trusts, but that is probably a personal risk tolerance thing.

The Bottom Line

No Hype lives up to its billing as a the Straight Goods on Investing Your Money. While I don’t believe it is for the absolute beginner (there are better books out there to get people started in investing The Wealthy Barber, Smart Couples Finish Rich, etc.), I would recommend this to anyone who is thinking about taking control of your own portfolio or someone who needs a primer on an investment asset class they are not currently utilizing.

And one last thing: I did learn a few new things, especially regarding split share corporations I didn’t know before.

Want a Free Copy?

  • Simply leave a comment and you’ll automatically be entered in the draw for a free copy.
  • Please only 1 comment entry / person (please enter a valid email address).
  • Only those with a North American mailing address may enter (publisher rules, sorry).
  • Contest will end Friday 5pm EST Jan 30, 2009 and the winner announced shortly afterward!
If you would like to read more articles like this, you can sign up for my free weekly money tips newsletter below (we will never spam you).

173 Comments

  1. Patrick Cooke on January 27, 2009 at 8:20 am

    Sounds like a great read!



  2. Kirk S. on January 27, 2009 at 8:43 am

    Has anyone actually read this and can give a first hand review?



  3. Money Minder on January 27, 2009 at 8:58 am

    Pick Me!



  4. ZeFrog on January 27, 2009 at 9:04 am

    I would like to read it.



  5. cbez on January 27, 2009 at 9:05 am

    Looks interesting…



  6. csplice on January 27, 2009 at 9:11 am

    One book please!



  7. dukeland on January 27, 2009 at 9:56 am

    Nice summary. Looking forward to reading this.



  8. Dividend Growth Investor on January 27, 2009 at 9:59 am

    FT and Qcash,

    Great Review. Sign me up for the book giveaway pls!



  9. Alice on January 27, 2009 at 10:02 am

    Wish me good luck!



  10. Frank on January 27, 2009 at 10:08 am

    Would love a free copy!



  11. KnowledgeSeeker on January 27, 2009 at 10:10 am

    Count me in!



  12. Brandon on January 27, 2009 at 10:17 am

    Sounds like a good read



  13. Frog of Finance on January 27, 2009 at 10:35 am

    Looks like many bloggers got a copy for review and a giveaway! Count me in. :o)



  14. Darcie on January 27, 2009 at 10:35 am

    If you can read a book like that and learn even one useful thing, it is well worth the time invested. Thanks, Qcash.



  15. canucktuary on January 27, 2009 at 10:43 am

    Count me in



  16. mike h on January 27, 2009 at 10:45 am

    I’d love to win this book!



  17. Mark on January 27, 2009 at 10:50 am

    Guest Star reviews, Nice!



  18. Chuck on January 27, 2009 at 10:54 am

    Giggity-Goo, sign me up!



  19. Dane on January 27, 2009 at 11:07 am

    I’d definitely be interested in reading this one as I’m feeling more than a little confused about what to do with my RRSPs this year ie. buy some index funds while they’re “on sale” or try something a little different.



  20. Rod on January 27, 2009 at 11:14 am

    sign me up



  21. Lyne on January 27, 2009 at 11:27 am

    Sounds very interesting. Thanks for the opportunity :-)



  22. Brian on January 27, 2009 at 11:33 am

    Count me in please.



  23. Luc Richard on January 27, 2009 at 11:34 am

    Sounds like a good read. Count me in please



  24. Cara on January 27, 2009 at 11:38 am

    Sounds like a good read.



  25. Marianne O. on January 27, 2009 at 11:40 am

    I’m in.



  26. jimmy on January 27, 2009 at 11:40 am

    i like to read this book!



  27. karash on January 27, 2009 at 11:41 am

    please count me in…!!!



  28. Susan Pipes on January 27, 2009 at 11:41 am

    Love to win, thank you.



  29. excell on January 27, 2009 at 11:41 am

    Sounds very interesting. Count me in please!



  30. bill on January 27, 2009 at 11:44 am

    count me in
    Thank you



  31. Niket on January 27, 2009 at 11:46 am

    Looks like a great read! Good review as well!



  32. Marion on January 27, 2009 at 11:50 am

    would love a chance to read investing info written from a woman’s perspective!



  33. Dan on January 27, 2009 at 11:51 am

    Count me in!!



  34. Vincent on January 27, 2009 at 11:51 am

    Very ineresting book, and thanks for the write up!



  35. Terence on January 27, 2009 at 11:51 am

    Sounds like a good book. Sign me up!



  36. Xenko on January 27, 2009 at 11:53 am

    I’m in.



  37. Digger on January 27, 2009 at 12:04 pm

    Sounds like a great book.



  38. Millionaireby45 on January 27, 2009 at 12:16 pm

    Hopefully this is my chance to win.



  39. Tony on January 27, 2009 at 12:23 pm

    gotta be in it to win it



  40. Peter on January 27, 2009 at 12:25 pm

    Thanks this sounds like a great book.



  41. Jineshwar singh on January 27, 2009 at 12:29 pm

    very much would like to read this book



  42. Ringo on January 27, 2009 at 12:31 pm

    Count me in, please.



  43. Rob B on January 27, 2009 at 12:32 pm

    Sounds like an interesting read, I’ll see if the library has it yet.



  44. Benoit Anctil on January 27, 2009 at 12:32 pm

    i will like to read it.
    like R.kyosaky or more.



  45. Lakedweller on January 27, 2009 at 12:33 pm

    Its time to shed the 3% management fees and take control of our investment’s destiny.



  46. Blitzkrieg on January 27, 2009 at 12:39 pm

    Yes please.



  47. Kevin on January 27, 2009 at 12:40 pm

    Count Me in!



  48. Sauce on January 27, 2009 at 12:44 pm

    I’m in…



  49. Terry on January 27, 2009 at 12:46 pm

    work in the ALT industry. Look forward to reading chapter 17



  50. steve on January 27, 2009 at 1:07 pm

    Looks interesting



  51. Sean Hyde on January 27, 2009 at 1:12 pm

    I’m in…



  52. Senk on January 27, 2009 at 1:13 pm

    Looks like a good book.



  53. Bryce on January 27, 2009 at 1:28 pm

    Can’t wait to read it.



  54. Ian on January 27, 2009 at 1:30 pm

    Well if Qcash has learnt something that is good enough for me!



  55. Ryan on January 27, 2009 at 1:36 pm

    Sounds like and interesting read.



  56. Derek on January 27, 2009 at 1:36 pm

    I’ve read Smart Couples Finish Rich; I’m ready for the next step.



  57. Steve in Montreal on January 27, 2009 at 1:37 pm

    Great to see QCash back. Sign me up.



  58. Broke on January 27, 2009 at 1:38 pm

    yummy



  59. Brian on January 27, 2009 at 1:41 pm

    No Hype _ i would love to read it. this book might have something that help me out.



  60. george on January 27, 2009 at 1:43 pm

    great blog, good review … free book (?)



  61. Adam on January 27, 2009 at 1:46 pm

    Looks good!



  62. Gregory Quebec on January 27, 2009 at 2:09 pm

    I am happy I came across your review, it made the book sound very promising

    Gregory,
    Quebec



  63. Sarah on January 27, 2009 at 2:10 pm

    Sounds interesting! And sounds like it was written at about my level… wanting to move beyond.
    Thanks for the blog –



  64. Kurt on January 27, 2009 at 2:10 pm

    Would love to read that!



  65. Carole on January 27, 2009 at 2:12 pm

    I need help!



  66. Jesus on January 27, 2009 at 2:16 pm

    Count me in.



  67. Swati on January 27, 2009 at 2:16 pm

    A rather interesting book, and something I will probably purchase/borrow from library if I don’t win it.

    The book perfectly defines my situation at this point…I am invested here and there, I read about it when and where I get a chance…but still don’t know where to begin or what the “next steps” should be. I am also confused on how people define asset allocation in a dozen ways. Some people differentiate between mutual funds/stocks/bonds in their “asset allocation” and some canadian/us/foreign and some small/med/large (I have NO idea how to determine that one).

    Looks like a good read. Thanks for the opportunity



  68. AndrewM on January 27, 2009 at 2:17 pm

    I’ll take it!



  69. Caroline on January 27, 2009 at 2:21 pm

    Boo-yah! I’d love a copy of this book.



  70. Alex on January 27, 2009 at 2:21 pm

    Sounds like a great book. Sign me up!



  71. Walk on January 27, 2009 at 2:28 pm

    Sign me up :)



  72. Amon Anus on January 27, 2009 at 2:35 pm

    Sounds like a good read!



  73. telefantastik on January 27, 2009 at 2:47 pm

    count me in! :)



  74. rachel on January 27, 2009 at 2:48 pm

    i’m in



  75. Elman on January 27, 2009 at 2:50 pm

    I need this book !



  76. Kristy on January 27, 2009 at 2:50 pm

    Hi, Thanks for posting this review. I am starting the journey of learning how to control my own investments and any tips on good resources are always appreciated!



  77. Brian M on January 27, 2009 at 2:52 pm

    Interesting article on this new book. I enjoy reading other perspectives on investing and financial planning and look forward to this one as well. I have checked my local library and have not found it as of yet. I am very curious about Gail’s beliefs on REIT investing as I favour them (in limited amounts) within my portfolio.

    Excellent website to have created, keep promoting financial awareness and education to the masses :)



  78. Joel on January 27, 2009 at 2:53 pm

    Sounds like a useful book



  79. Tish on January 27, 2009 at 3:03 pm

    I think that this book will be very helpful and assist me in getting on the right path…..



  80. Astin on January 27, 2009 at 3:08 pm

    Can’t speak to the quality of the book, but that blurb about the author turned me right off it.

    She’s got degrees in Science and Engineering, took the CSC (a multiple-choice exam for a self-study course required for any Canadian trader, that is NOT that difficult), joined an investor’s club, and read a lot… and she’s “mastered” the finer points of investing? Talk about hype.



  81. Chris on January 27, 2009 at 3:09 pm

    would love to read it



  82. Dwight Thompson on January 27, 2009 at 3:13 pm

    I would love to have a read



  83. Neeraj on January 27, 2009 at 3:14 pm

    count me in.



  84. Qubikal on January 27, 2009 at 3:15 pm

    i want the book!



  85. Eric KunzE on January 27, 2009 at 3:19 pm

    Looking for investment advise



  86. Wade on January 27, 2009 at 3:24 pm

    Thanks for your great site – even though I’ve been investing for many years, I still find your articles of interest. I’d love to win the book.

    Wade



  87. Andrea on January 27, 2009 at 3:38 pm

    I would like to read this book… pick me.



  88. fillalph on January 27, 2009 at 3:40 pm

    I would like to read this as according to the reviewer it covers basic investing as well as going into some detailed stock analysis.

    Cheers



  89. Jules @ Lovely Las Vegas on January 27, 2009 at 3:41 pm

    Please count me in.



  90. Brian on January 27, 2009 at 4:04 pm

    Look like a useful book.



  91. AndrewP on January 27, 2009 at 4:45 pm

    Good job on your first review, QCash!!
    I’d love a copy!



  92. Les on January 27, 2009 at 4:49 pm

    i’d like to read it. Thanx



  93. Vincent on January 27, 2009 at 4:58 pm

    sounds useful



  94. Laura on January 27, 2009 at 5:00 pm

    Looks to be a great read!!!



  95. codemonkey on January 27, 2009 at 5:00 pm

    cool. thanks for the review. awesome blog, btw.



  96. Kenny on January 27, 2009 at 5:06 pm

    Count me in, please!



  97. Greg on January 27, 2009 at 5:45 pm

    Sounds interesting. Count me in too.



  98. newbie on January 27, 2009 at 5:58 pm

    pick me please!



  99. Catharine on January 27, 2009 at 6:00 pm

    this is right up my alley!



  100. Gates VP on January 27, 2009 at 6:02 pm

    Ummm… The Wealthy Barber?

    I’m sorry, but I wouldn’t recommend that book to anybody.

    Isn’t that the book where he advocates that being saving 30% of your pre-tax income and then making 12% / year over 30 years like he did?

    It has nuggets of wisdom heaped with piles of frugal “limited-good” mindset. He casually ignores inflation despite a chunk of his mythical “12% returns” coming during the 20% inflation era (the book was printed in 1989, anyone remember October ’89?)

    He starts by telling you that you can be rich by saving only 10% of your income. But then follows that with later wisdom that you should also be maxing out your RRSPs and that you should really be saving 15% or 20% on top of that (not just the 10%).

    Here’s an Indigo review with some supporting comments.

    @FT and QCash why are you even mentioning this book? What are the book’s strong points? (other than including Canadian-specific content?)



  101. So on January 27, 2009 at 6:02 pm

    Great review.



  102. Chootiya on January 27, 2009 at 6:08 pm

    Count me in.



  103. Jatinder on January 27, 2009 at 6:19 pm

    Would love to read it!



  104. Zack on January 27, 2009 at 6:45 pm

    Hello, 4th year business student here chiming in. I love the Blog, and I’d love to read the book. Thanks!



  105. KAF on January 27, 2009 at 7:04 pm

    Count me in!



  106. Sarah on January 27, 2009 at 7:07 pm

    This is timely. My husband and I have some money that we’re looking at investing, and we’ve been debating where to start. (Actually, I think we’re going to split it and each try different things).



  107. Jeff Wilson on January 27, 2009 at 7:57 pm

    I could use a book like this given my recent performance in managing my portfolio.

    cheers,

    Jeff



  108. Mai on January 27, 2009 at 7:59 pm

    I’am in :)



  109. Deb on January 27, 2009 at 8:00 pm

    Sounds like a good reference book. Count me in!



  110. Pat on January 27, 2009 at 8:31 pm

    How does this book compare to the following:

    Title: The Smartest Investment Book You’ll Ever Read
    Author: Daniel Solin

    I just checked this out of the library the other day and plan on reading it in the coming days. If this book really is the “straight goods” is it worth reading on top of the above book. Keeping in mind that I don’t have infinite time to read every investment book that comes out.



  111. Al on January 27, 2009 at 8:48 pm

    Sounds like a great book to read and learn!!



  112. Mark Telewiak on January 27, 2009 at 9:21 pm

    Sounds like another great addition to my library



  113. VICTOR RAJKOTWALA on January 27, 2009 at 9:38 pm

    In these days of unregulated freelancers masquerading as ‘investment advisers’, and even qualified advisers being more interested in their commissions rather than safeguarding your portfolio, it is absolutely essential for every person to be reasonably acquainted with the basics of personal finance, insurance, taxation and avenues of investment. Therefore any well-written book on these topics, such as ‘No Hype’ is always welcome.



  114. Sameer on January 27, 2009 at 10:02 pm

    I hate to say it, but nowadays it’s fairly easy to get the CSC. I’d like to read something by someone who’s earned the CFA.



  115. Linda on January 27, 2009 at 10:09 pm

    Good timing! I’m currently reading everything I can get my hands on too, having already read the aforementioned Wealthy Barber and Smart Couples. As the author states, these are good get-to-know-you books, but I could use something a bit more sophisticated now. Thanks.



  116. Jared on January 27, 2009 at 10:47 pm

    Always interested in new books.



  117. Bobby on January 27, 2009 at 10:52 pm

    sounds interesting!



  118. Maria V on January 27, 2009 at 11:08 pm

    sounds like an interesting read



  119. Chris on January 27, 2009 at 11:08 pm

    Count me in!



  120. Vincento on January 27, 2009 at 11:15 pm

    sounds good~!



  121. Rajesh on January 27, 2009 at 11:37 pm

    Looks interesting



  122. john on January 27, 2009 at 11:57 pm

    Sounds like there are some gems in this book – would love to take a closer look. Count me in! Have always wondered if home ownership should be considered a real estate investment, at least in terms of calculating % diversification. Now I know.

    John



  123. Les MILA on January 28, 2009 at 12:24 am

    A very interesting review for a book that is probably good.



  124. H on January 28, 2009 at 12:50 am

    Thanks!



  125. skippy on January 28, 2009 at 1:48 am

    Sounds like that book is right up my alley.



  126. R. on January 28, 2009 at 1:50 am

    I’m very interested.



  127. amit on January 28, 2009 at 7:46 am

    sounds interesting. Count me in. BTW, what happened to the other book giveaway – rich brother, rich sister. Was a winner announced?



  128. Debt_Free_in_5 on January 28, 2009 at 9:56 am

    I’d love a copy



  129. Cheryl on January 28, 2009 at 10:19 am

    I would love a copy of this book!



  130. cannon_fodder on January 28, 2009 at 10:23 am

    Yes, please!



  131. Rob on January 28, 2009 at 12:17 pm

    Wish me luck!



  132. Mike on January 28, 2009 at 1:19 pm

    why not



  133. Marc on January 28, 2009 at 1:27 pm

    Looks like a good read, would love a copy.



  134. Lynne on January 28, 2009 at 1:37 pm

    sounds like the perfect book for me!



  135. bmfinc on January 28, 2009 at 1:54 pm

    This is the kind of book that I could really use. Thanks for the review.



  136. sean on January 28, 2009 at 1:57 pm

    Sounds like I should read this book considering the direction my money has headed in recent months.



  137. mcmatterson on January 28, 2009 at 2:04 pm

    Looks like a solid read…thanks!



  138. Izzoshady on January 28, 2009 at 2:30 pm

    Thanks for the review. Appreciate it



  139. Walrus on January 28, 2009 at 7:14 pm

    Good review made me interested.



  140. Jamie on January 28, 2009 at 10:08 pm

    Thanks for the book review, would love to read it myself!



  141. Patricia on January 28, 2009 at 11:13 pm

    Sounds like a good addition to the home reference library I am slowly building. Thanks for the opportunity to win a copy



  142. Shaun on January 29, 2009 at 1:13 am

    I think i’m in that boat, not a beginner but much to learn especially at a very intriguing time to start investing.

    Pick me Please!



  143. Ken Selinger on January 29, 2009 at 1:15 am

    Thanks for the informative review.



  144. jfernandez1977 on January 29, 2009 at 2:07 am

    pick me.



  145. Sean on January 29, 2009 at 11:56 am

    Sounds like a great read. Thanks for the giveaway!



  146. guychan on January 29, 2009 at 12:36 pm

    Thanks for the opportunity to get a freebie. After a business trip to China in late 2004, I knew that I had to switch to a DIY mode for my investments – my advisors were either asleep at the switch or working on their own agenda. No regrets since then…



  147. Pauline on January 29, 2009 at 12:41 pm

    Thanks for the review.



  148. jared on January 29, 2009 at 1:48 pm

    Would love to give the book a good reading. Thanks!



  149. Eric on January 29, 2009 at 2:45 pm

    I’d like to read it…..



  150. JCR on January 29, 2009 at 5:01 pm

    Looks like a book I’d like to read.



  151. JCR on January 29, 2009 at 5:02 pm

    I’m currently reviewing my investments and this would be a useful book to look at. Thanks for the review!



  152. Elbyron on January 29, 2009 at 6:46 pm

    Looking at implementing the Smith Manoeuvre soon (thank to the info on this site). I’m familiar with the basics of investing, but this book sounds like a good way to learn more. Hope I win the giveaway!



  153. Pooroo on January 29, 2009 at 8:39 pm

    I want to win this book!



  154. mindy on January 29, 2009 at 10:58 pm

    looks like a good read thanks for the giveaway



  155. Elina on January 30, 2009 at 8:59 am

    Sounds like a decent book. I look forward to reading it ;)



  156. Derek on January 30, 2009 at 9:29 am

    It sounds like a wonderful read. Who couldn’t use this advise.



  157. Finance Matters on January 30, 2009 at 10:23 am

    I’m in.



  158. ron87 on January 30, 2009 at 12:16 pm

    I would like to learn more about investing. Sign me up for the draw.



  159. Niket on January 30, 2009 at 12:44 pm

    Looks like a great read!



  160. Paul on January 30, 2009 at 1:20 pm

    In it to win it



  161. harry on January 30, 2009 at 1:37 pm

    Just what I need now



  162. thriftyguy on January 30, 2009 at 1:44 pm

    raffle me in please



  163. Peter B on January 30, 2009 at 1:58 pm

    Sign me up



  164. Matt on January 30, 2009 at 3:16 pm

    Count me in!



  165. LJ on January 30, 2009 at 3:24 pm

    I definetely need the advice in this book!



  166. LJ on January 30, 2009 at 3:25 pm

    I do need this advice!



  167. Steve on January 30, 2009 at 4:06 pm

    nice review!



  168. Barry on January 30, 2009 at 4:11 pm

    I’ve been reading tons of investment books recently. I even tried “forward testing” the philosophies that some of the “gurus” suggested will make consistent money. Unfortunately, they all fell flat on their faces, even before the big crash in October of last year. I hope that this book helps us grow our tiny nestegg as I’ve only managed to make it contract….

    Thanks for the freebie opportunity.



  169. Angela C on January 30, 2009 at 4:48 pm

    Thank you for the giveaway:)
    angelacisco at rocketmail.com



  170. Sanjeev on January 30, 2009 at 5:08 pm

    I’m in



  171. newbie on January 30, 2009 at 6:14 pm

    Count me in!



  172. Walrus on January 30, 2009 at 6:31 pm

    sounds good to me



  173. Scott on January 30, 2009 at 6:40 pm

    this book sounds good….