I now have more books to review than time to read them, they just keep rolling in. As I know that you guys enjoy the reviews and giveaways, I will make sure to chug through them as fast as possible.

The book to be reviewed this time is called “Work the System – The Simple Mechanics of Working Less and Making More.” It’s about how a struggling business owner working 80-100 hrs/week who overcame adversity to turn his business into the top business of it’s niche. Even with a super successful business, Sam Carpenter now only spends 2 hrs / week working in it.

How did he do it? First, lets start with the formalities.

About the Author:

The author Sam Carpenter is an entrepreneur who has dug himself out a small business mess by implementing simple clearly defined systems which has resulted in simplying both his work and life. Here is more info about Sam on workthesystem.com

A telecommunications professional, Sam has been a business owner for over 20 years and is the author of the book Work the System: The Simple Mechanics of Making More and Working Less, published by North Sister Publishing, Inc. in April 2008. Originally from upstate New York, Sam lives in Oregon with his wife, Linda. He is majority owner and president of Centratel, the highest-quality telephone answering service in the United States. He also founded and operates Kashmir Family Aid, an international charitable organization to aid earthquake victims in Pakistan and Azad Kashmir. He and Linda are also in the process of launching a major Internet startup site.

What is this book about:

Work the System is about a business owner, Sam Carpenter, who turned his failing small business into a huge success using clearly defined “systems”. What is a business system? To put it in basic terms, it’s documenting procedures for every position in a company to avoid confusion about their roles and responsibilities. If the positions are defined properly, all the company complexities should be covered without “the boss” even being present!

The book is well organized and separated into three parts. Part one of the book describes Mr. Carpenters business life and how he worked 20 hour days to keep up with his business and family life. Despite all of his hard work, the business was still slowly going under. It was basically the night before he would have to close up shop when he decided to take a leap and run his business with a different philosophy. That is, with systems.

Part two gets into more detail of his systems and how to implement them with specific examples from Centratel. It details that business’s need 3 types of paperwork, the stategic objective, general operating principles and the working procedures. I enjoyed this section as I personally learn best from example.

Part three is called “further considerations” and basically goes over tips and tricks to make a system run better in your business.

After implementing and improving his “system” over the years, Sam Carpenter now only works 2 hours a week on his business with annual growth increasing every year. That’s the business dream isn’t it? For a business to be able to sustain itself and continue to grow?

Final Thoughts

This book has a similar flavor as E-Myth but builds on it with specific examples. For those of you who are business owners (or considering it), I would highly suggest that you give this book a read.

Want a Free Copy?

  • Simply leave a comment and you’ll automatically be entered in the draw for a free copy.
  • Please only 1 comment entry / person (please enter a valid email address).
  • Only those with a North American mailing address may enter (publisher rules, sorry).
  • Contest will end Friday 5pm EST Sept 5, 2008 and the winner announced shortly afterwards!

Update: Contest had ended!

93 Comments

  1. Deb on September 2, 2008 at 4:46 pm

    I thought the E-Myth was a really great book. Would like to read this one too. Thanks!



  2. Debt_Free_in_5 on September 2, 2008 at 5:10 pm

    I would like this.



  3. EnRock on September 2, 2008 at 5:12 pm

    I’d love to hear his thoughts on how to keep the business growing after the initial conversion. Count me in for the contest.



  4. Kenny on September 2, 2008 at 5:13 pm

    Count me in! Thanks!



  5. Phil J on September 2, 2008 at 5:27 pm

    I’ve love a chance to win the book.
    Thanks!



  6. yyj on September 2, 2008 at 5:50 pm

    please count me in, thanks



  7. Eric on September 2, 2008 at 6:04 pm

    I like your site and this is my first comment



  8. Elvis K on September 2, 2008 at 6:40 pm

    Sounds really good…Please add me in as well FT



  9. Jon Kepler on September 2, 2008 at 7:07 pm

    Count me in. Thanks for your reviews; I’ve actually made purchases based on your recommendations.



  10. Art on September 2, 2008 at 7:31 pm

    Love your articles. Count me in.



  11. marlaene on September 2, 2008 at 8:07 pm

    we just started a renovation company 18 months ago, we are doing great financially but have no time for ourselves,

    count me in for the draw



  12. Tetsuo on September 2, 2008 at 8:50 pm

    Not quite believing that paperwork can define an entire organization. The precise advantage of small business is that the processes don’t interupt efficiency and allow them to adapt quicker than big lumbering beauracracies (read: paperwork). But its a range of grey and definately not black/white.



  13. Plamen on September 2, 2008 at 9:28 pm

    Count me in. Thanks



  14. Cash Instinct on September 2, 2008 at 9:32 pm

    Please count me in, sounds interesting. Thanks!



  15. islander on September 2, 2008 at 9:33 pm

    i would love a copy



  16. Brandon on September 2, 2008 at 9:44 pm

    Sounds like a good read.



  17. cbez on September 2, 2008 at 9:45 pm

    Seems like an interesting read.



  18. Stephen Winters on September 2, 2008 at 10:17 pm

    Add me to the large list. Always good to read more books on systems.

    Steve



  19. john in Kitchener on September 2, 2008 at 10:37 pm

    After running a sole-practitioner healthcare practice for 19 years, I’ve settled into a comfortable groove of “what works”. However, I’m an avid reader of all things related to business and investing, so would most likely learn a few tips from this book. Thanks for the offer.



  20. Brian on September 2, 2008 at 10:40 pm

    Now if I could just get this to work at my day job!



  21. AL on September 3, 2008 at 12:01 am

    Sam sounds like a similar position I find myself in.
    I am looking to create clearly defined “systems” for my business to motivate the sales team and increase the sales for our firm.

    I love to get this copy!



  22. DG on September 3, 2008 at 12:15 am

    Thanks!
    Dan.



  23. Sarlock on September 3, 2008 at 12:29 am

    Sounds like a good read!



  24. Terri on September 3, 2008 at 12:53 am

    Agreed!



  25. pedro on September 3, 2008 at 1:10 am

    sounds interesting



  26. Tob on September 3, 2008 at 2:42 am

    Looks good!



  27. Ronny on September 3, 2008 at 3:26 am

    I’m in.



  28. PhilC on September 3, 2008 at 9:12 am

    Money making systems, what’s not to love. I just hope his system does not involve writing books.
    Count me in too!



  29. Maiku on September 3, 2008 at 1:45 pm

    Sounds like an interesting book. The idea about clearly stating business objectives is similar to what I’ve read recently in other management books.



  30. NeedNoWallet on September 3, 2008 at 3:17 pm

    I would be interested in reading this book. Please add me to the contest.

    Thanks.



  31. AndyBuck on September 3, 2008 at 3:30 pm

    Sounds like a great book!



  32. Mark on September 3, 2008 at 4:47 pm

    Great review, thanks!



  33. A D on September 3, 2008 at 6:29 pm

    Sounds good.



  34. Nick on September 4, 2008 at 12:21 am

    Count me in too. Book sounds similar to Tim Ferris’ 4 hour work week.



  35. Brian on September 4, 2008 at 9:31 am

    Looks like a good read.



  36. Pat Furlong on September 4, 2008 at 1:43 pm

    Looks like a good book.



  37. Konstantin on September 4, 2008 at 5:48 pm

    It sounds like an interesting book.



  38. Reg on September 5, 2008 at 1:48 am

    Sounds interesting; would love to read.



  39. brick on September 5, 2008 at 1:49 am

    Thanks for the review and giveaway. Count me in!



  40. A M on September 5, 2008 at 12:17 pm

    Thanks for the review; sounds like it’s worth reading.



  41. Nick P on September 5, 2008 at 2:16 pm

    Good review. I’d like to read it. Thanks.



  42. Manisha Mawji on September 5, 2008 at 3:35 pm

    Please add me to the contest!

    Thanks!



  43. Amy on September 5, 2008 at 4:11 pm

    Please enter me in the contest – I’d love to read this book! Thanks!