Skip to content

Helping Canadians with Personal Finance Since 2006

Book Review and Giveaway: When Markets Collide

Yet another book review and giveaway.  This time, we got contacted by the publisher of the book When Markets Collide: Investment Strategies for the Age of Global Economic Change by Mohamed A. El-Erian.

Who is Mohamed A. El-Erian?

According to the back of the book, he has very high credentials:

Mohamed A. El-Erian is co-CEO and co-CIO of PIMCO, one of the largest investment management companies in the world. He formerly served as president and CEO of Harvard Management Company, the firm that manages the university’s $35 billion endowment. He spent 15 years at the International Money Fund, working on policy, capital market, and multilateral economics issues. El-Erian has been featured by Bloomberg, Forbes, Financial Times, Latin Finance, CNBC, The New York Times, and The Wall Street Journal. In 2004, Fortune named him a member of its eight-person “Mutual Fund Dream Team.”

What is this book about?

In “When Markets Collide”, Mohamed El-Erian writes for 3 audiences, individual investors, economists and policy makers.  With that, he explains how to to distinguish between market noise and market signals, gives his perspective on the big picture of global markets and suggestions for changes to global market economic policies.

Here is a snippet from McGraw-Hill:

The world economy is in the midst of a series of hand-offs. Global growth is now being heavily influenced by nations that previously had little or no systemic influence. Former debtor nations are building unforeseen wealth and, thus, enjoying unprecedented influence and facing unusual challenges. And new derivative products have changed the behavior of many market segments and players. Yet, despite all these changes, the system’s infrastructure is yet to be upgraded to reflect the realities of today’s and tomorrow’s world. El-Erian investigates the underlying drivers of global change to shed light on how you should:

* Think about the new opportunities and risks
* Construct an appropriately diversified and internationalized portfolio
* Protect your portfolio against new sources of systemic risk
* Best think about the impact of central banks and financial policies around the world

Offering up predictions of future developments, El-Erian directs his focus to help you capitalize on the new financial landscape, while limiting exposure to new risk configurations.

My Thoughts

Although the credentials that Mr. El-Erian carries makes this book automatically interesting for me, at times, the book was a bit dry as it seemed to ramble on a little bit.  As a simple minded individual, I enjoy books with clear headings and clearly indicated main points which this book lacked.

Also note again that the book seemed to be written for varying audiences, with only a smaller portion of the book directed toward individual investors.

Want a Free Copy?

  • Simply leave a comment and you’ll automatically be entered in the draw for a free copy.
  • Please only 1 comment entry / person (please enter a valid email address).
  • Only those with a North American mailing address may enter (publisher rules, sorry).
  • Contest will end Friday 5pm EST Oct 10, 2008 and the winner announced shortly afterwards!
If you would like to read more articles like this, you can sign up for my free weekly money tips newsletter below (we will never spam you).

67 Comments

  1. Michael Clark on October 7, 2008 at 8:57 am

    I like free books :)



  2. Four Pillars on October 7, 2008 at 9:31 am

    I`m interested!



  3. Quick Lunar Cop on October 7, 2008 at 9:39 am

    Now seems like a good time to read about markets colliding! I’m in!



  4. Brian on October 7, 2008 at 9:47 am

    Sounds like an interesting book, sign me up



  5. LL on October 7, 2008 at 10:23 am

    It sounds like an interesting book even if it’s a bit dry. I’m not a big investor (except through my mutual funds, etc. through work) but I am trying to learn as much as I can about investing. I want to become much more educated and knowledgeable about investing, real estate, and building wealth.



  6. Cameron on October 7, 2008 at 10:29 am

    Please add me to your drawing.

    Thanks!



  7. Jane on October 7, 2008 at 10:33 am

    Yesterday I felt like the markets had collided on me, but this is a new day, so count me in!



  8. EastCoast on October 7, 2008 at 10:49 am

    international finance… sounds interesting.



  9. Aaron on October 7, 2008 at 11:10 am

    Sign me up, please.
    Thanks.



  10. Brandon on October 7, 2008 at 11:22 am

    Free finance books are always a good thing.



  11. Frog of Finance on October 7, 2008 at 11:39 am

    Looks like an interesting reading. And I like free books!

    Frog



  12. Jimmy on October 7, 2008 at 11:43 am

    i would like to read this book !



  13. Dividend Growth Investor on October 7, 2008 at 11:44 am

    I would love to get this book from this guy. He’s somewhat of a legend having run a major endowment fund and then pimco..



  14. Daniel on October 7, 2008 at 11:51 am

    I’d like to read this book.



  15. ryan on October 7, 2008 at 12:00 pm

    sounds interesting to us dorks. i am in.



  16. Chris on October 7, 2008 at 12:04 pm

    Sounds interesting. count me in.



  17. Mark on October 7, 2008 at 12:04 pm

    Another great review,

    Thanks!



  18. 45free on October 7, 2008 at 12:05 pm

    Awesome…been wanting to read this book.



  19. FearLES on October 7, 2008 at 12:08 pm

    I am interested to check the book out.



  20. Deb on October 7, 2008 at 12:09 pm

    Count me in, thanks!



  21. venter on October 7, 2008 at 12:11 pm

    Sounds interesting, put me on the list!



  22. viennatech on October 7, 2008 at 12:12 pm

    Collision? More like a grotesque train wreck. I keep wanting to look away but my morbid curiosity keeps me watching….



  23. Greenhouse on October 7, 2008 at 12:13 pm

    I’d read it



  24. Brian on October 7, 2008 at 12:14 pm

    Sign me up please!
    Thanks



  25. mike on October 7, 2008 at 12:48 pm

    looks interesting.



  26. BrianM on October 7, 2008 at 1:00 pm

    sounds appropriate for right about now…



  27. James on October 7, 2008 at 1:13 pm

    Sounds interesting…



  28. tom on October 7, 2008 at 1:17 pm

    To be relevant, El-Erian must address the necessity that all derivatives, especially credit default swaps, must be traded on an exchange with an associated clearinghouse to guarantee all transactions. As well, all such transactions should be subject to an excise tax.



  29. toby on October 7, 2008 at 1:52 pm

    I always question when I hear people talking about a new economy. Usually it is not a new economy, just people tired of talking about the old economy. The recent crunch seems to show that global markets are still riding on the back of the US economy. Sounds like an interesting read all the same though.



  30. Kryton on October 7, 2008 at 2:20 pm

    Hey I’m in for a free book. Sounds like an interesting read.



  31. Jiuning on October 7, 2008 at 2:25 pm

    count me in, thanks



  32. Johnny on October 7, 2008 at 2:26 pm

    Let me in, thx



  33. mike h on October 7, 2008 at 2:54 pm

    I’ll take it!



  34. Larry on October 7, 2008 at 3:09 pm

    I am interested in. This book will be very useful specially at this market down time.

    Thanks



  35. Nelson on October 7, 2008 at 3:09 pm

    Free book? Sign me up!



  36. PC on October 7, 2008 at 3:28 pm

    Thanks for the give-away!



  37. guinness416 on October 7, 2008 at 3:30 pm

    I’m in too. Thanks, FT.



  38. Tony on October 7, 2008 at 3:52 pm

    If it’s free it’s for me =) Free = Great



  39. Brad Sutton on October 7, 2008 at 3:54 pm

    Book sounds like a good read. I’d enjoy a copy.



  40. Snickers on October 7, 2008 at 4:04 pm

    I would like to test my luck



  41. Ringo on October 7, 2008 at 4:12 pm

    I would like to read the book, can’t wait when it’s available in local library. Good luck to everyone!



  42. mengi on October 7, 2008 at 4:36 pm

    This book seeem very interesting. Particulary, the pridction of globalization.



  43. CSW on October 7, 2008 at 4:45 pm

    Haven’t read the book, but heard him speak on TV. He makes a lot of sense. Once the fallout from the current recent financial crisis is over, I suspect that the world and its financial management will change (one hope fro the better); investors will need a new perspective on how business is transacted and the opportunities that are to be found out there.



  44. ProfitMaze on October 7, 2008 at 5:56 pm

    I like free books…



  45. Bob on October 7, 2008 at 6:18 pm

    Sounds like an interesting read. Thanks



  46. Geoff on October 7, 2008 at 7:41 pm

    I read an article in Smart Money about this guy, he seems to be very intelligent when it comes to investing.



  47. Catharine Inniss on October 7, 2008 at 8:04 pm

    I could really use this book



  48. KC on October 7, 2008 at 8:18 pm

    Add my name please@

    KC



  49. Rick J. on October 7, 2008 at 8:39 pm

    Sounds interesting!



  50. Rick J. on October 7, 2008 at 8:41 pm

    I’d like to read to understand the new global economy!



  51. karash on October 7, 2008 at 9:15 pm

    Please sign me up..!



  52. Marshall Middle on October 7, 2008 at 9:57 pm

    I like free books and I can not lie…



  53. Miralem on October 7, 2008 at 10:25 pm

    looks like an interesting read



  54. MultifolDream$ on October 7, 2008 at 11:00 pm

    Looks like worth reading



  55. Patricia on October 7, 2008 at 11:09 pm

    Please include me in the draw. Thanks.



  56. Mahesh on October 7, 2008 at 11:57 pm

    I am interested. Thanks



  57. Mark on October 8, 2008 at 12:23 am

    I like books.



  58. Al on October 8, 2008 at 1:17 am

    please sign me up



  59. Andrew Paterson on October 8, 2008 at 9:20 am

    Sounds interesting – sign me up!



  60. Start-Up on October 8, 2008 at 2:02 pm

    I’d like to be in the drawing. Thanks!



  61. Chris on October 8, 2008 at 2:11 pm

    seems like an interesting read …



  62. RH on October 8, 2008 at 6:23 pm

    With the current market meltdown and all the changes in the global market, it would it interesting to read about the author’s view and his predictions of the future economy. Please include me in the book giveaway. Thanks



  63. JM on October 8, 2008 at 6:31 pm

    Sign me up please

    Tks



  64. Oscar on October 8, 2008 at 6:54 pm

    I’m also interested to read this book. Thanks for the opportunity.



  65. Nicholas Barnett on October 9, 2008 at 7:07 pm

    If you are not using the endowment model as an investor than you are missing the whole point of investing. After all the numbers are crunched concerning the probability of forcasting and market timing as a long term strategy, you are left with a short term strategy that is a ticking time bomb to fail regardless of the talent. The endownment model is just the evolution of portfolio theory from the greatest investing minds today. It is not prideful and ego centric enough to try what market timing and forecasting does. Those strategies are just one asset class, when endowment models include 6+ asset classes. Moving forward in the world of volatility and global connectivity the risk of the overall market has increased. Therefore the paradigm of diversification has become macro in nature across the gamet of economic instruments. This is the only way to reduce the overall volatility and risk within the portfolio with out scarficing equity like returns. The endowment model is the future of individual investing.



  66. Pascal on October 9, 2008 at 9:12 pm

    Interested!



  67. LBanks on October 10, 2008 at 1:14 pm

    I’m frugal, I like free



Scroll To Top
0 Shares
Tweet
Share
Pin
Email