Skip to content

Helping Canadians with Personal Finance Since 2006

Book Review and Giveaway: Rob Carrick’s Guide to What’s Good Bad and Downright Awful in Canadian Investments Today

It’s been quite a while since our last book review and giveaway, but lets get it going again with a great personal finance book written by the popular Globe and Mail columnist, Rob Carrick.  The title is a bit long, but descriptive to the overall theme of the book.  The book is titled “Rob Carrick’s Guide to What’s Good Bad and Downright Awful in Canadian Investments Today.”

About the Author:

According to the book:

Rob Carrick is one of Canada’s most widely read and best-respected financial experts, with two decades of experience as a business and economics reporter and commentator.  Carrick worked on both Bay Street and Parliament Hill before becoming the personal finance columnist for The Globe and Mail ten years ago.

About the Book

As you can probably conclude from the book title, this book focuses on the Canadian investment industry and does a great job explaining how the industry works in a brutally honest fashion.  Although this book is meant for the beginner to intermediate investor, there is something for everyone in this book.

Did you know that when you buy mutual funds from a discount broker that they keep the trailer fee even though they didn’t offer any advice (except Questrade)?  Or the traits of an advisor that you should look out for?  Or even mutual funds that actually provide value?  Those are just a few tid bits of information that I gathered from the book.

The topic areas covered in the book include:

  1. Getting off to a good start – how to get started as an investor, some common mistakes.
  2. Mutual Funds – how fund fees work, and lists of good and bad mutual funds.
  3. Navigating the Stock Market – how to build a simple portfolio without mutual funds, dividend investing, discount brokers, ETFs.
  4. Bonds, GICs and other conservative stuff – fixed income rip offs, ETF alternatives, principal protected notes, high yield bonds.
  5. Do-it-yourself investing – reasons to use a discount broker along with a listing of the top 3, investments that go great with a discount broker account and online resources for investors.
  6. Investment advisors – traits of good and bad adivsors, interview questions, and steps to take if an advisor has wronged you.
  7. Information, please – recommended websites/newsletters/calculators for investing.

Final Thoughts

Overall, I enjoyed this book and would consider it a must read for personal finance enthusiasts, especially those just starting out on their journey.

Want a Free Copy?

The book publisher was generous in offering Million Dollar Journey readers the chance to win a free copy of the book.  The details are below:

  1. Follow our new Facebook page by clicking “Like” on the top of this page. (+1 entry)
  2. Leave a comment in this post. (+1 entry)
  • Only one comment entry per person (valid email addresses only please – privacy policy).
  • Only those with a North American mailing address may enter (publisher rules, sorry).
  • Contest will end Fri 5pm EST Sept 10, 2010 and the winner, drawn randomly from all entries, contacted shortly after!

If you would like to read more articles like this, you can sign up for my free weekly money tips newsletter below (we will never spam you).

160 Comments

  1. John King on September 6, 2010 at 9:14 am

    Thanks for the review. I find that Rob Carrick usually does a very good job of researching and reporting for the benefit of individual investors.



  2. Mark on September 6, 2010 at 9:18 am

    Sounds like a good book for most beginners.



  3. jen on September 6, 2010 at 9:29 am

    Sounds like a useful book.



  4. RI on September 6, 2010 at 9:41 am

    I believe it would be a pleasure to read this book.



  5. cbez on September 6, 2010 at 9:44 am

    It looks like a good read.



  6. Pierre on September 6, 2010 at 10:10 am

    Sounds like a great book



  7. Sim on September 6, 2010 at 10:15 am

    I don’t use mutual funds anymore, but this could still be interesting.



  8. Melanie Samson on September 6, 2010 at 10:31 am

    This sounds like the perfect book for my situation.



  9. Jared on September 6, 2010 at 10:37 am

    Sounds like an interesting book



  10. Brian C on September 6, 2010 at 10:51 am

    Count me in please!



  11. Traciatim on September 6, 2010 at 10:52 am

    I like books :)



  12. BillT on September 6, 2010 at 11:12 am

    Send me the Book!



  13. Matthew on September 6, 2010 at 11:25 am

    Receiving a copy of this book would sure help me in my financial journey!



  14. Brian Poncelet, CFP on September 6, 2010 at 11:30 am

    Hey Ft,

    Does the book talk about risk management at all?

    Disability, critical illness, life insurance, or annuities (later in life). I know this puts people to sleep, but my thoughts it is worth a few chapters.

    Most DTYers have never given this any time. Risk management should be the foundation. Which is the most important!

    It hit home with me this summer when I was visiting B.C. (Kelowna by the lake) and seeing multimillion dollar condos which had a poor foundation and were leaning to one side.

    I was told the cost of repair was going to be more than the buildings!



  15. H. Nieuwenhuis on September 6, 2010 at 11:33 am

    Sounds like an interesting book!



  16. Mark on September 6, 2010 at 11:40 am

    I would like a copy of this book since I am in the beginning stages of investing. Crossing my fingers and hoping I win!



  17. Mike on September 6, 2010 at 11:47 am

    I would love a copy too.



  18. Peter on September 6, 2010 at 11:58 am

    The subjects covered, according to the table of contents looks very interesting. I would love to read this book. I hope a copy will be available at our public library in the not to distant future. Thank for the article.



  19. Mike on September 6, 2010 at 12:04 pm

    Interesting book for people starting to invest



  20. John on September 6, 2010 at 12:05 pm

    It’s good to see books written on personal finance with a Canadian bent. Too often we have to glean and adapt from American ones.



  21. tom on September 6, 2010 at 12:08 pm

    I like reading what Carrick has to say.



  22. karen on September 6, 2010 at 12:09 pm

    Please out me in the draw.



  23. Alain on September 6, 2010 at 12:13 pm

    I like your web site.

    Much of the information does not apply to me, but occasionally I find some gems that make my life easier. Thank you.



  24. Patricia on September 6, 2010 at 12:14 pm

    Would love a copy of this book.



  25. Daniel Morel on September 6, 2010 at 12:14 pm

    Sounds like a good book, but most people will still buy and read trashy novels.



  26. guinness416 on September 6, 2010 at 12:16 pm

    I read it already (TPL has a bunch of copies folks!) but would be happy to have a copy for my shelf. Thanks, FT!



  27. chad on September 6, 2010 at 12:16 pm

    It would be nice to read for anyone nowdays because alot of individuals are doing more investing on there own.
    and lots of mistakes are still being made
    nice timing with the book you should do we’ll



  28. Judy on September 6, 2010 at 12:21 pm

    Sign me up for the book.



  29. John on September 6, 2010 at 12:27 pm

    I always enjoy reading what Rob Carrick has to say – have learned plenty from him over the years . I’m sure a copy of his book would be useful addition to my library. Thanks for the review and opportunity to win.



  30. Judi Jeffers on September 6, 2010 at 12:36 pm

    I have heard of this book before and have not been able to find a copy in the library. I hope that I can win one, as I am very interested to read it.
    Thank you



  31. No Fees For Me on September 6, 2010 at 12:37 pm

    Unfortunately the copy of this book in our local library branch is missing. Probably taken by a disgruntled mutual fund sales person. The good news is that it is available at other branches. I look forward to reading it.



  32. Pat on September 6, 2010 at 12:40 pm

    It looks like a perfect read for me.



  33. Larry on September 6, 2010 at 12:54 pm

    I’m certain I would benefit from reading such a book. Thanks



  34. Ruth on September 6, 2010 at 12:57 pm

    This sounds like a useful, informative book that I would like to read



  35. Financial Cents on September 6, 2010 at 1:00 pm

    Hey FT – send me the book please! :)

    Cheers,
    Mark



  36. Kate on September 6, 2010 at 1:10 pm

    Sounds like an interesting book



  37. AL on September 6, 2010 at 1:25 pm

    Would love to read it!!



  38. Bernie on September 6, 2010 at 1:33 pm

    I would definitely enjoy reading this book!



  39. Kevin Epp on September 6, 2010 at 1:48 pm

    Following your “Journey” with great interest … practical, informative and inspiring.



  40. Matt on September 6, 2010 at 1:48 pm

    Would be interested in reading this. Thanks for another giveaway!



  41. Steve Zussino on September 6, 2010 at 2:13 pm

    Have done a review on this book on our site.

    Good read and I liked how current and impartial he is.

    I would like to know what Rob invests in though.



  42. Alberto on September 6, 2010 at 2:16 pm

    Would like to get hold of a copy.



  43. Allawi on September 6, 2010 at 2:32 pm

    pick me please!



  44. Michael on September 6, 2010 at 2:38 pm

    Count me in! It sounds like an interesting read.



  45. Sam on September 6, 2010 at 2:39 pm

    Love to read Rob Carrick’s book to help to find a safer path through the Financial Minefield!



  46. Jason R on September 6, 2010 at 2:59 pm

    Hum, I think I could be convinced to read it.
    Thanks for the give aways as always!



  47. sssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssss on September 6, 2010 at 3:04 pm

    loved the book. would like my own copy.



  48. Horace Moning on September 6, 2010 at 3:07 pm

    Hi i want to know what kind of level of money can i invest.



  49. Echo on September 6, 2010 at 3:09 pm

    Nice review, count me in on the giveaway!



  50. Catherine on September 6, 2010 at 3:47 pm

    I’ve been eyeing this book for a while. Thanks for giving your readers the opportunity to win a free copy!



  51. Jagdish on September 6, 2010 at 4:00 pm

    It will be very interesting to read this book. I think it covers many practical aspects of investments.



  52. Joe on September 6, 2010 at 4:17 pm

    Very interesting – Hadn’t heard of this book. Seems like it encompasses most of the beginner topics. It’s on my “must read” list now. Thanks.



  53. Dane on September 6, 2010 at 4:53 pm

    Very interested to see what he says in the Bonds, GICs and other conservative stuff section as I’m leaning more towards that end of the spectrum these day.



  54. ldk on September 6, 2010 at 5:17 pm

    thanks for the giveaway, FT!!



  55. sean on September 6, 2010 at 5:39 pm

    I need this book



  56. Jason on September 6, 2010 at 5:42 pm

    I enjoy Rob’s articles/features in the G&M. Looks like a very handy book!



  57. Adam on September 6, 2010 at 5:48 pm

    I would love to win a copy as I am also ready to look at investing seriously.



  58. Jungle on September 6, 2010 at 5:54 pm

    Wow, I have never seen so many comments for a post. You must be giving away a book for free..please add me to the draw :) Thanks for the review!



  59. Brian on September 6, 2010 at 6:09 pm

    Always interested in a good read.



  60. Kevin on September 6, 2010 at 7:07 pm

    sounds good, sign me up!



  61. Jesse James on September 6, 2010 at 8:19 pm

    Good Startup tips for an investor. Sounds interesting.



  62. Peter Mulloy on September 6, 2010 at 8:27 pm

    Big fan of Rob’s in the Globe, throw my hat in please.



  63. Bob Ferguson on September 6, 2010 at 8:30 pm

    Carrick is a good writer who seems to relate well to readers. He seems to be able to answer the questions of concern to the average investor. His style is not complicated.



  64. Brandon on September 6, 2010 at 8:38 pm

    Sign me up. Cheers.



  65. Brian on September 6, 2010 at 8:38 pm

    If there is one thing that I have learned about the Canadian investment industry is that it often feels like I haven’t learned very much at all… perhaps Rob’s book can help to change that….



  66. BadCaleb on September 6, 2010 at 9:51 pm

    I’m in. Thanks for doing this.



  67. Queen of Warriors on September 6, 2010 at 10:51 pm

    I’m interested in reading up on it. Thanks



  68. Terry Jewell on September 6, 2010 at 11:05 pm

    Thanks for the review and the contest
    Terry



  69. Randy T on September 6, 2010 at 11:50 pm

    Would love the book!



  70. Mai on September 7, 2010 at 12:03 am

    I am always looking for good books to read. I am in.



  71. Jason on September 7, 2010 at 12:47 am

    Sign me up, it sounds like a great read.



  72. Neenie on September 7, 2010 at 1:59 am

    I have enjoyed Rob Carrick’s column for years, always enjoy his passion to educate investors.



  73. miscellanem on September 7, 2010 at 3:03 am

    Sounds educational. How investments work is wayy beyond me…



  74. D.Mason on September 7, 2010 at 4:10 am

    As a relatively new investor ( since TFSA’a) I’m sure I could learn a lot from the chapter “Navigating the Stock Market”. Hope I get a book!



  75. S Huffman on September 7, 2010 at 7:10 am

    Count me in for a chance at a freebie :)



  76. Arcaneind on September 7, 2010 at 7:50 am

    5 Stars out of 5 on Amazon.ca and not a huge sticker price either.

    BUT winning it would be sweeter!



  77. Ken on September 7, 2010 at 8:05 am

    Sounds like a good read. Thanks for the contest.



  78. Emily on September 7, 2010 at 9:14 am

    Book sounds great!



  79. Trevor on September 7, 2010 at 10:19 am

    Would love a copy!



  80. sneeker on September 7, 2010 at 10:22 am

    I would love to give that book a read! Thanks!



  81. Chris on September 7, 2010 at 10:27 am

    Book please! Anything that’ll help my journey.



  82. Chris on September 7, 2010 at 10:28 am

    I’d love a print! Thanks!



  83. Steve L. on September 7, 2010 at 10:39 am

    Looks like an excellent read.



  84. Bobby Aves on September 7, 2010 at 10:46 am

    Book sounds great!



  85. Michael on September 7, 2010 at 10:46 am

    Sounds like a good read. Sign me up!



  86. Gerry on September 7, 2010 at 10:55 am

    Sounds like a great book. Count me in.



  87. Mike on September 7, 2010 at 10:59 am

    Looks like a good book



  88. Rod on September 7, 2010 at 11:17 am

    Sounds good. Sign me up



  89. Dutchie on September 7, 2010 at 11:35 am

    I’ve read bits of this book online. It seems quite interesting!



  90. digger88 on September 7, 2010 at 11:51 am

    Always good to find resources aimed at the Canadian market.



  91. Erin D on September 7, 2010 at 12:43 pm

    This sounds really interesting for beginners such as ourselves. Please count me in!



  92. Elbyron on September 7, 2010 at 12:52 pm

    My library has 8 copies of this book, but it would be nice to have my own copy to read at my leisure.



  93. Millionaireby45 on September 7, 2010 at 1:00 pm

    Sounds like a great book.



  94. TTTSNB on September 7, 2010 at 1:39 pm

    I can’t wait to read it!



  95. Calvin on September 7, 2010 at 1:46 pm

    Sounds like that book would be really helpful.



  96. Aik on September 7, 2010 at 2:04 pm

    I’d love to win.



  97. Brian on September 7, 2010 at 2:15 pm

    I wanted to pick up this books since I saw the author on BNN. He was very insightful with his ideas and thoughts on the market. This was around the end of the year last year. I this will be a “must have” on my list.



  98. Graham on September 7, 2010 at 2:31 pm

    Sounds very interesting! Can’t wait to read it.



  99. SophieW on September 7, 2010 at 2:47 pm

    Sounds like just the book for me…



  100. Nick on September 7, 2010 at 3:02 pm

    Thanks FT, count me in!



  101. Peter on September 7, 2010 at 3:23 pm

    Looks like a great book!



  102. Marianne O on September 7, 2010 at 3:40 pm

    Anything by Rob Carrick should be a good read. Thanks for the contest.



  103. Jeff on September 7, 2010 at 3:57 pm

    Another great book give away



  104. Adam B on September 7, 2010 at 4:07 pm

    I want desperately to read this book.



  105. Gurjit on September 7, 2010 at 5:01 pm

    I would love to read this book by Rob Carrick



  106. Jo on September 7, 2010 at 5:29 pm

    Would love to read the book!



  107. NS on September 7, 2010 at 6:00 pm

    I would love to read this book!



  108. Kerry on September 7, 2010 at 6:22 pm

    This would be an interesting read. I have several friends in the industry of mutual fund sucking….I mean selling.

    It would be interesting to see how it all works, not in theory from their mouths.

    Cheers!



  109. stacey on September 7, 2010 at 6:37 pm

    I wondered if this book was any good. Thanks for the review, now I’d love to read it!



  110. jaybee on September 7, 2010 at 6:51 pm

    Thanks for the review. I tend to like most of what Carrick writes…



  111. chris on September 7, 2010 at 7:24 pm

    thanks for another giveaway!



  112. Jon on September 7, 2010 at 7:35 pm

    Sounds like a good book! Would love to check it out for free! :)



  113. Greg on September 7, 2010 at 8:04 pm

    I’d like to read it!!



  114. Karl on September 7, 2010 at 8:08 pm

    Looks great, count me in too!



  115. ig on September 7, 2010 at 9:27 pm

    I’d like the book, please. 8-)



  116. mike on September 7, 2010 at 10:19 pm

    Please let me win



  117. Miguel on September 7, 2010 at 10:22 pm

    Don’t read the Globe, but I am interested in any finance book…



  118. Dspayre on September 7, 2010 at 10:23 pm

    I want the book



  119. bert on September 7, 2010 at 10:39 pm

    sounds like a good read and just in time for the indoor weather.



  120. Kenny O on September 7, 2010 at 11:40 pm

    Would love to win the free copy, sounds like a good read!!



  121. Marina on September 7, 2010 at 11:42 pm

    Please enter me in the contest, it sounds like a great book!



  122. Germaine on September 8, 2010 at 12:28 am

    Please enter my name in the contest. The book sounds interesting and I would like to read it.



  123. Future Money-Bags on September 8, 2010 at 7:58 am

    I am just starting out as an investor this year and woud love and cant wait to learn tonnes more about investing for the average person!!
    I love when people I actually know write good books, not to say the first-timers don’t have good advice.



  124. Ben on September 8, 2010 at 10:45 am

    I would thoroughly enjoy this book. I have very few personal finance tomes on my bookshelf, and it would be nice to have a good reference on hand instead of going to the library.



  125. JME on September 8, 2010 at 11:14 am

    The book sounds good.



  126. Neeraj on September 8, 2010 at 11:15 am

    Seems like an interesting read. Please count me in.



  127. BigJ on September 8, 2010 at 11:45 am

    Sounds great! I’d like to take a closer look.



  128. Marypat on September 8, 2010 at 11:53 am

    As a newbie investor, I think this book would be extremely informative.



  129. Justino on September 8, 2010 at 11:58 am

    Would be interested to see how he constructs “a simple portfolio without mutual funds, dividend investing, discount brokers, ETFs.”



  130. Frog of Finance on September 8, 2010 at 12:30 pm

    I’m certainly interested in reading this book!



  131. tin on September 8, 2010 at 1:47 pm

    would love to read this book



  132. Raf on September 8, 2010 at 2:52 pm

    would like to have a closer inspection of said book…



  133. Jim on September 8, 2010 at 3:02 pm

    I enjoyed his last book. Count me in!



  134. Bryce on September 8, 2010 at 4:33 pm

    Sounds like a great read for a novice like me!



  135. Rob on September 8, 2010 at 4:47 pm

    Thanks for the opportunity!



  136. Ken Kirkby on September 9, 2010 at 12:41 am

    I enjoy my weekly readings of Rob’s columns in the Saturday Globe. I especially enjoy the interviews and information available through Rob’s online vids.



  137. Mike Austin on September 9, 2010 at 12:55 am

    I’d really like to read this book. Sounds cool!



  138. Chris Watts on September 9, 2010 at 1:02 am

    great selection



  139. telefantastik on September 9, 2010 at 2:48 am

    Count me in, thanks!



  140. KB on September 9, 2010 at 12:03 pm

    would love to get this book! thanks for the promotion.



  141. carwel on September 9, 2010 at 1:30 pm

    I’d like a copy.



  142. Brandon on September 9, 2010 at 2:45 pm

    sounds like a good book, i’d like to check it out



  143. js_cooldude on September 9, 2010 at 11:33 pm

    Yay! Free!

    Seriously though, this is like the third positive review for this book (opposed to nonce negative) so I’m really starting to want to read this.



  144. A.T. on September 10, 2010 at 10:06 am

    Always up for learning more about investing



  145. Aaron on September 10, 2010 at 10:25 am

    Should be an interesting book.



  146. Steve on September 10, 2010 at 10:53 am

    I would love to read the book. A free copy would be much appreciated.



  147. Tracey H on September 10, 2010 at 11:31 am

    Sounds interesting!



  148. Jean-Gabriel on September 10, 2010 at 12:17 pm

    I’m in. Thanks for doing this.



  149. John Lee on September 10, 2010 at 12:28 pm

    FT, finally on facebook! awesome.



  150. Sean on September 10, 2010 at 1:41 pm

    Sounds like a great book



  151. Lavneet on September 10, 2010 at 2:11 pm

    Sounds like a good book for most beginners



  152. Heather on September 10, 2010 at 2:30 pm

    Glad you are now on FB!



  153. Ruth on September 10, 2010 at 3:40 pm

    Enjoy Rob Carrick in the Globe and Mail. Would love to win this book



  154. Will on September 10, 2010 at 5:29 pm

    Looks like a good book, thanks for the review.



  155. Luc on September 12, 2010 at 4:00 pm

    Interesting book, would like to read it.



  156. Ryan on September 12, 2010 at 10:18 pm

    mmm, free books



  157. helen dakin on October 9, 2010 at 10:10 am

    rob carrick. one of my my favourite writers!



  158. Michael on October 18, 2010 at 9:42 am

    Pick me, pick me!



  159. Mark on October 18, 2010 at 10:25 am

    sounds like a valuable book



  160. FrugalTrader on October 18, 2010 at 11:20 am

    NOTICE:

    I put the wrong link in the RSS post. If you want to enter the RESP book giveaway, please leave your comment by clicking the following link:

    https://milliondollarjourney.com/the-resp-book-review-and-giveaway.htm

    Thanks!



0 Shares
Tweet
Share
Pin
Email