Skip to content

Helping Canadians with Personal Finance Since 2006

Book Review and Giveaway: Happier

Today’s book review is a bit different than the typical book about finance, but just as relevant in my eyes.  A New York Times best seller, Happier – Learning the Secrets to Daily Joy and Lasting Fulfillment, is written by Tal Ben-Shahar who happens to be a Harvard Professor on Positive Psychology – and teaches Harvard’s most popular course.

About the Author:

According to the book:

Tal Ben-Shahar, Ph.D., is one of Harvard University’s most popular lecturers. He has been profiled on NPR and featured on CNN, CBS, in the New York Times and the Boston Globe.  His classes attract 20% of all Harvard graduates.  Ben-Shahar graduated from Harvard with a degree in philosophy and psychology.  For the last ten years, he has been teaching personal and organizational excellence, leadership, ethics, and self-esteem.

About the Book

Happier is about finding meaning and fulfillment in life, something which I have written about before.  They teach that when you learn how to live for the present and future at the same time, it brings true enjoyment and life fulfillment.

The book is separated into 3 sections:

  1. What is Happiness? – That is the question that a lot of us have.  Ben-Shahar goes through the debate and gives us his definition of happiness.  He explains happiness as the ultimate currency (not money) and how important it is to have self-concordant goals.
  2. Happiness Applied – Here the author applies his theories on happiness in education, the workplace, and in relationships.
  3. Meditations on Happiness – Various meditations and exercises that you can do to help you find what brings you happiness and fulfillment.

Final Thoughts

In my opinion, this was a great book for those of you looking for a little more out of life.  I especially enjoyed the section on setting goals along with the various exercises to enhance happiness.

Want a Free Copy?

McGraw-Hill was generous in offering Million Dollar Journey readers the chance to win 2 copies of the book.  The details are below:

  1. Simply leave a comment and you’ll automatically be entered in the draw for a free copy.
  2. All email subscribers will receive an additional entry (privacy).
  • Please only 1 comment entry / person (please enter a valid email address).
  • Only those with a North American mailing address may enter (publisher rules, sorry).
  • Contest will end Friday 5pm EST July 3, 2009 and the winner announced shortly after!
If you would like to read more articles like this, you can sign up for my free weekly money tips newsletter below (we will never spam you).

170 Comments

  1. Ramona on June 30, 2009 at 8:31 am

    I can always afford to be “Happier”
    Thanks!



  2. Ms. Jones on June 30, 2009 at 8:35 am

    I’ve got a whole family here eager to be happier. Bring it on!



  3. Bill M on June 30, 2009 at 8:58 am

    I would be HAPPY to have this book !



  4. Millionaireby45 on June 30, 2009 at 9:36 am

    Sounds like a good read.



  5. Steve - Montreal on June 30, 2009 at 9:45 am

    Hey who doesn’t want to be Happier?? Please place my name into the pot.



  6. lana on June 30, 2009 at 10:09 am

    I would be happier if I got to read this book.



  7. Paolo on June 30, 2009 at 10:17 am

    Happy happy happy.



  8. Kelsey on June 30, 2009 at 10:18 am

    I would love to read this book. Thanks!



  9. Ben on June 30, 2009 at 10:31 am

    Sounds like a good summer read!



  10. Chris on June 30, 2009 at 10:31 am

    Count me in!



  11. Mike Fuellbrandt on June 30, 2009 at 10:42 am

    I could always use more “happy” in my life.



  12. Sampson on June 30, 2009 at 10:43 am

    Me Please!



  13. Finance_Addict on June 30, 2009 at 10:51 am

    Thanks.



  14. David Tam on June 30, 2009 at 10:52 am

    The title of the book makes me Happier in the heart.



  15. Melanie on June 30, 2009 at 10:54 am

    I would love to know how to make all my relationships happier in some way!



  16. Cisco Kid on June 30, 2009 at 10:56 am

    I truely need to find the secret to happyness, I think I should buy this book even if I don’t win. I feel like I have so many things to be happy for, but yet, I am not…



  17. STCLOW on June 30, 2009 at 11:00 am

    I look forward to being Happier, this book would come at a perfect time…



  18. JasonM on June 30, 2009 at 11:04 am

    Thanks



  19. R I on June 30, 2009 at 11:31 am

    Funny – I used to be very happy all the time, but now I’m less so. Could this book have the answer to get it back?



  20. Nick on June 30, 2009 at 11:31 am

    Sounds like an interesting read!



  21. Oil Baron on June 30, 2009 at 11:33 am

    Excellent idea for a book.



  22. Harv on June 30, 2009 at 11:36 am

    Pick me please…LOL!



  23. fdum11 on June 30, 2009 at 11:37 am

    i want the secret to a happy life



  24. Michael on June 30, 2009 at 11:39 am

    I would love a copy of this book!



  25. SD on June 30, 2009 at 11:39 am

    I would love to learn how to be happier!



  26. Thaily on June 30, 2009 at 11:40 am

    mas feliz. Does Spanish count?
    I’m in… Thaily



  27. Carol on June 30, 2009 at 11:41 am

    Well now, who wouldn’t want to be HAPPIER?! Thanks for the contest……



  28. karash on June 30, 2009 at 11:42 am

    I WOULD LOVE TO BE HAPPIER…!



  29. casey5 on June 30, 2009 at 11:43 am

    Count me in!



  30. Mike on June 30, 2009 at 11:44 am

    I’m a pretty happy guy, but you can always be happier.



  31. Rick on June 30, 2009 at 11:44 am

    Love and Happiness seem to go together . Count me in .



  32. Kathy S. on June 30, 2009 at 11:46 am

    I definitely need to be “happier”. :)



  33. Jimmy on June 30, 2009 at 11:46 am

    would like to read this



  34. Cara on June 30, 2009 at 11:47 am

    Happieness is often all about perception!



  35. scott on June 30, 2009 at 11:48 am

    Happiness is a state of mind, the problem is the current state your mind is in…..



  36. hjincalgary on June 30, 2009 at 11:49 am

    Happiness – do something kind each day……..find joy in the little things in life, and appreciate what you have – good health, family and integrity



  37. Sandra on June 30, 2009 at 11:49 am

    Yes …. a positive approach to getting more out of life! Thanks for bringing this book to my attention. Hope I’m one of the lucky two.



  38. Tish on June 30, 2009 at 11:53 am

    This is a road I’d like to travel down……………….



  39. Florence on June 30, 2009 at 11:54 am

    Very wise! I’d love to read this book!



  40. cannon_fodder on June 30, 2009 at 11:54 am

    I am happy in the present, and I will be happier in the future if I would win.



  41. Aaron on June 30, 2009 at 11:55 am

    Sounds great! Count me in.



  42. ashley on June 30, 2009 at 11:57 am

    Sounds like a great book. Thanks for the chance to win one!!



  43. Daniel Morel on June 30, 2009 at 11:58 am

    What me worry? Nah, Just be Happy!



  44. Terry on June 30, 2009 at 11:59 am

    Thanks.



  45. Maria on June 30, 2009 at 11:59 am

    This is all I could wish for after receiving the finality of marriage annulment last month – HAPPIER!



  46. Narajin on June 30, 2009 at 12:03 pm

    Interesting book. I’d like to get one.



  47. Sophie on June 30, 2009 at 12:04 pm

    generally a happy person, but losing my job and my mother within a couple of months has been tough, I could definitely use this!



  48. Tom on June 30, 2009 at 12:06 pm

    Bobbie McFerron (sp?) comes to mind. Don’t worry, be happy!



  49. allawi17 on June 30, 2009 at 12:06 pm

    me want book



  50. Kirk on June 30, 2009 at 12:15 pm

    Sounds like a good topic. I was wondering what I could buy with my Chapter’s gift card.



  51. Nora on June 30, 2009 at 12:16 pm

    Sounds like a great book…Happiness is what it is all about!



  52. JamieV on June 30, 2009 at 12:18 pm

    Looks to be an interesting read.



  53. Robbie K on June 30, 2009 at 12:18 pm

    Please add my entry to the pot.



  54. Kippan on June 30, 2009 at 12:20 pm

    Count me in for a chance!



  55. ryan on June 30, 2009 at 12:30 pm

    I could use this book about now.



  56. Ali on June 30, 2009 at 12:31 pm

    Count me in!!



  57. Suzanne on June 30, 2009 at 12:32 pm

    I’d like a copy.



  58. bill ruus on June 30, 2009 at 12:39 pm

    Great self education, would love a copy



  59. Maiku on June 30, 2009 at 12:39 pm

    Sounds like a good read.



  60. Edouard S on June 30, 2009 at 12:40 pm

    Another wonderful book on happiness is ”what happy people know” which can be found at all serious book outlets. Indigo, Amazon, B&N, etc… Thanks for the info FT.



  61. Matt on June 30, 2009 at 12:40 pm

    Participated in every raffle for last 1 year, hopefully this is my lucky chance :)



  62. Cori on June 30, 2009 at 12:42 pm

    Sounds like a good book…I’d like to read it!



  63. Susan on June 30, 2009 at 12:42 pm

    Thanks for the offer and for introducing the book. It made me ponder the meaning of ‘happy’ and ‘happier’. It will be interesting to read Dr. Ben-Shahar’s views.



  64. Triple_Eh on June 30, 2009 at 12:42 pm

    Would like a copy!



  65. telefantastik on June 30, 2009 at 12:49 pm

    Count me in!



  66. NoDebtGuy on June 30, 2009 at 12:58 pm

    Would love a copy!



  67. Sarah on June 30, 2009 at 1:01 pm

    I want this book!



  68. RI on June 30, 2009 at 1:01 pm

    It would definitely a daily joy if I can get the book!



  69. abcstocks on June 30, 2009 at 1:01 pm

    Please count me in….



  70. canucktuary on June 30, 2009 at 1:02 pm

    count me in



  71. Genius Boy on June 30, 2009 at 1:06 pm

    I attended Tal’s courses and lectures when I was at Harvard, and I must say he’s a great lecturer. Interesting, provocative, and funny at the same time. His book is really an incredibly fun read.

    MDJ: I don’t need a copy of the book, since I’ve read it, but it really is a great read for those of you, who want a more positive view of life



  72. Blogging Banks on June 30, 2009 at 1:08 pm

    Sign me up and Pick me! ;-)



  73. Jenny on June 30, 2009 at 1:17 pm

    I am looking forward to reading this book…thanks for bringing it to my attention.



  74. Terri on June 30, 2009 at 1:20 pm

    Sounds like a great summer read!



  75. Bryce on June 30, 2009 at 1:20 pm

    I could use a happy book to read on holidays!



  76. cdc979 on June 30, 2009 at 1:25 pm

    I need all the happiness help I can get!



  77. Frugalgirl on June 30, 2009 at 1:27 pm

    I believe the outlook on life is not how much you have in terms of many or stuf but how happy you are



  78. Craig on June 30, 2009 at 1:27 pm

    Would be happy to read it



  79. Steve Zussino on June 30, 2009 at 1:28 pm

    I enjoy reading about happiness!



  80. Alex on June 30, 2009 at 1:30 pm

    I’m in



  81. gexter on June 30, 2009 at 1:31 pm

    I could always use an extra dose of HAPPY!



  82. allyson fleck on June 30, 2009 at 1:39 pm

    Don’t worry, Be Happy – I strive to live by this.



  83. Patricia on June 30, 2009 at 1:40 pm

    Sounds like a great summer read.



  84. bob on June 30, 2009 at 1:41 pm

    I am sad… please make me happy!



  85. Mo on June 30, 2009 at 1:46 pm

    I would love to win a copy of this book!



  86. Bob on June 30, 2009 at 1:47 pm

    Free books make me happy.



  87. K on June 30, 2009 at 1:48 pm

    Everyone beat me to the plays on “happy”… if I read this book, would I learn how to be happy with that idea?



  88. Elbyron on June 30, 2009 at 1:55 pm

    Who needs money to buy happiness, if you can win this book for free!



  89. Ed on June 30, 2009 at 1:56 pm

    54 with 4 kids “under” 8….I need it,don’t you think??? :)



  90. Kathryn on June 30, 2009 at 1:59 pm

    Sounds like my kind of book! Count me in.



  91. Jeff on June 30, 2009 at 2:00 pm

    Could this be my next read?



  92. Chris on June 30, 2009 at 2:02 pm

    Yay books!



  93. Lakedweller on June 30, 2009 at 2:06 pm

    This reminds me of the Be-Do-Have cycle I learned ten years ago from a good friend named Netra.



  94. Paul Huynh on June 30, 2009 at 2:10 pm

    I would love a copy of this book.



  95. Vince on June 30, 2009 at 2:11 pm

    Count me in for happiness please!



  96. Davina on June 30, 2009 at 2:12 pm

    Enter me, please!



  97. InstruMike on June 30, 2009 at 2:24 pm

    Sounds Interesting



  98. Stephanie on June 30, 2009 at 2:25 pm

    Cant wait to win.



  99. CSW on June 30, 2009 at 2:37 pm

    Happiness comes from daily yoga, a balanced life and harmony with nature.



  100. Angela on June 30, 2009 at 2:39 pm

    I started this book and found it interesting, but had to give it back to it’s owner.



  101. Mark on June 30, 2009 at 2:43 pm

    Please count me in.



  102. Audree on June 30, 2009 at 3:01 pm

    i am reevaluating my life goals and career, I could definitely use this book!



  103. Rick on June 30, 2009 at 3:02 pm

    Ben-Shahar seems like an interesting fellow.
    Wouldn’t mind trying his meditations/exercises



  104. walk on June 30, 2009 at 3:11 pm

    A free book would be nice!



  105. WM on June 30, 2009 at 3:13 pm

    Looks like a great read.



  106. Mike on June 30, 2009 at 3:16 pm

    Sounds interesting. Sign me up!



  107. judy on June 30, 2009 at 3:24 pm

    I need this book for good friend who thinks he need no goals, no plans–just deal w/whatever is or “happens”! A little frustrating.



  108. JJ on June 30, 2009 at 3:33 pm

    Sounds like an interesting read, please enter me into the contest!



  109. Greg on June 30, 2009 at 3:35 pm

    Oh. Oh. Pick me! :)



  110. tsiko on June 30, 2009 at 3:37 pm

    Be happy!



  111. Heather on June 30, 2009 at 3:47 pm

    Giveaways of cool stuff make me happy. Thanks for the entries!



  112. Nichole on June 30, 2009 at 3:51 pm

    Sounds like a good read!



  113. PC on June 30, 2009 at 4:08 pm

    I need to be Happier too!



  114. chris on June 30, 2009 at 4:17 pm

    sign me up!



  115. GTP on June 30, 2009 at 4:23 pm

    Looks interesting to me !



  116. Qman on June 30, 2009 at 4:58 pm

    thanks



  117. Kelly Clark on June 30, 2009 at 4:59 pm

    I agree with the author that happiness, not wealth, is what we should gage our success by.



  118. Erick on June 30, 2009 at 5:02 pm

    Sign me up!



  119. Ray C on June 30, 2009 at 5:08 pm

    Sounds like a great read, seeing as wealth doesn’t always equal happiness.



  120. Kelle on June 30, 2009 at 5:16 pm

    …and Lasting Fulfillment. Sounds like an idea worth exploring.



  121. Alexis on June 30, 2009 at 5:27 pm

    Count me in!



  122. E. Tarrant on June 30, 2009 at 5:59 pm

    Pick me!!! Pick me!!!!!



  123. Shaun on June 30, 2009 at 6:12 pm

    I would like to read this book!



  124. PAC on June 30, 2009 at 6:13 pm

    happy times, its almost Canada day



  125. Rebecca on June 30, 2009 at 6:18 pm

    I want to be happy :)



  126. cbird on June 30, 2009 at 6:43 pm

    Sounds like an excellent read for the summer.



  127. Jim on June 30, 2009 at 6:48 pm

    Happiness is…. a free book!



  128. Tin on June 30, 2009 at 6:52 pm

    Count me in!



  129. iamphysio on June 30, 2009 at 7:06 pm

    Always in pursuit of happiness. Thanks.



  130. Andrew on June 30, 2009 at 7:17 pm

    Me too



  131. Candace on June 30, 2009 at 8:48 pm

    Don’t worry be happy :)



  132. Mark in Nepean on June 30, 2009 at 8:49 pm

    I want to read this book FT. Count me in!



  133. Dane on June 30, 2009 at 9:18 pm

    I’ve read a few of these books over the past couple of years and they’ve been really eye-opening … would be interested to see what this one says!



  134. Ryan on June 30, 2009 at 9:36 pm

    Sounds like a good read.



  135. Darry on June 30, 2009 at 10:59 pm

    A free book would make me happier.



  136. TheRoadtoMeaning on June 30, 2009 at 11:08 pm

    This book sounds really good! Count me in please!



  137. Brendan on June 30, 2009 at 11:24 pm

    comment



  138. Brennan on June 30, 2009 at 11:32 pm

    I’m in.



  139. Marcin on July 1, 2009 at 12:15 am

    Sounds like a good read, I`m really interested in the psyhology and power of the mind studies (why the heck did I become an accountant?)



  140. Heather S on July 1, 2009 at 12:25 am

    I’d love to win, enter me pretty please!



  141. MarsCat on July 1, 2009 at 12:26 am

    Books books books! I like books!



  142. Peter W on July 1, 2009 at 12:32 am

    Could not be happier right now;

    But you might prove me wrong, if you give me the book!

    Thanks!



  143. Ron on July 1, 2009 at 12:34 am

    I’ld like the book as well. I hope i get lucky.



  144. Lucie on July 1, 2009 at 12:41 am

    HAPPY CANADA DAY! I’d be “HAPPY” to read a “HAPPIER” book.

    P.S. – Excellent site you have here and thanks for all the great info!



  145. Derek on July 1, 2009 at 12:51 am

    I like the sound of sharing happiness for free . thanks MHP and MDJ.

    DH



  146. Terri on July 1, 2009 at 1:00 am

    I look forward to reading this book, whether I win a copy or not! :)



  147. Justin on July 1, 2009 at 1:13 am

    Can’t wait to be happier!



  148. AL on July 1, 2009 at 1:27 am

    Excellent book to add to my library!!



  149. Paul S on July 1, 2009 at 1:35 am

    Wow, many more people leaving comments than I thought there would be. Thanks for the review.



  150. Sam on July 1, 2009 at 2:05 am

    It is said that “Happiness is a state of Mind!”. I wonder what Dr. Tal Ben-Shahar has to enlighten us even more. I would love to get a chance to read his book.



  151. Dianne M on July 1, 2009 at 9:34 am

    20% of all graduates attend his class? I ‘d like to read what he has to say too.
    Happy Canada Day!



  152. Nancy Urekar on July 1, 2009 at 11:19 am

    I’m pretty happy – could I be happier?



  153. Neil F on July 1, 2009 at 1:07 pm

    Make me happy!



  154. Mike on July 1, 2009 at 4:01 pm

    Would love a copy



  155. Garry on July 1, 2009 at 4:48 pm

    I am always happy – but why not more!



  156. Henry on July 1, 2009 at 4:54 pm

    I need the book!!!



  157. RS on July 1, 2009 at 9:09 pm

    Would love a copy



  158. Marina on July 1, 2009 at 10:03 pm

    Thanks!



  159. Mary-Anne on July 1, 2009 at 10:22 pm

    Sounds like a great read from a great author!



  160. lindahfx on July 1, 2009 at 10:39 pm

    Definitely something I would love to read right now!



  161. Jay on July 2, 2009 at 1:14 am

    I’d love to read this book.



  162. Matt on July 2, 2009 at 2:59 am

    Sounds like a good read!



  163. Miller on July 2, 2009 at 8:13 am

    Sounds like a cool book….maybe i’ll win a copy



  164. Barik on July 2, 2009 at 12:59 pm

    Would like to get a copy

    Thanks



  165. Julie on July 2, 2009 at 1:29 pm

    I’d love to have a copy.
    Thanks



  166. Chris on July 2, 2009 at 2:14 pm

    Sounds great!



  167. Deborah on July 2, 2009 at 4:05 pm

    You might also want to check out “The Happiness Project” blog.



  168. Subversive on July 2, 2009 at 6:00 pm

    Hi, sign me up. :)



  169. Neeraj on July 3, 2009 at 12:42 pm

    Please count me in.



  170. pauline on July 3, 2009 at 5:01 pm

    i would love a copy of the book



Scroll To Top
0 Shares
Tweet
Share
Pin
Email