Seems that the book reviews are getting popular with publishers! Cameron C. Taylor, a multimillionaire businessman and author, contacted me to do a book review of his newest project: Does Your Bag Have Holes? 24 Truths that Lead to Financial and Spiritual Freedom. This book takes a look at the underlying principles and choices of prosperity with a spiritual/Christian twist.

Who is the author?

This is what the books website has to say about the author Cameron C. Taylor:

Cameron began writing books and learning to speed read while in college. By his senior year, Cameron was a published author and was reading at a rate of over 3,000 words a minute. Upon graduating with honors in business, he began his entrepreneurial career and founded several companies. He took one of his companies from an idea to over $1 million in revenue in its second year and then grew the business to over $10 million in revenue its fifth year. He is currently the president of three organizations: The Ladder to Success Corporation—a for-profit marketing consulting company; the Claim Your Victory Corporation, a for-profit company involved in the exploration for oil and natural gas resources; and the Does Your Bag Have Holes? Foundation, an educational charity. In addition to his business successes, Cameron has served in an overseas missionary ministry and is currently a volunteer pastor. He is a recipient of the Circle of Honor Award for being an “exceptional example of honor, integrity, and commitment.”

What the book is about?

The book goes through 4 principles and 6 choices of prosperity. Within each principle and choice of prosperity, there are myths explained with a truth at the end of each chapter.

The 4 Principles of Prosperity Include:

  1. Our Creator Gives us all Good Things
  2. Liberty is Given to All Men by our Creator
  3. Consequences are the Results of Our Choices
  4. Government is Created by the People to Protect our God Given Rights

The 6 Choices of Prosperity Include:

  1. Blame or Responsibility
  2. Pride or Humility
  3. Hypocrisy or Integrity
  4. Idleness or Industry
  5. Debt or Ownership
  6. Greed or Charity

The Good and The Bad

I enjoy books that come with CD’s. This book in particular came with an audio CD which summarized the main points of the book. A cliff notes of sorts. I also appreciate reading books from authors who have “made it” themselves in addition to giving us the principles and values that they believe in.

Since the book has a spirituality portion of the book, it has a fairly strong Christian flavor. This is not necessarily a bad thing, but might not be the best read for those who aren’t religious.

What did I learn the most from this book?

As a passive Christian, I learned a bit about the bible and some of its monetary/principle based interpretations. I must say that I’ve found some of the passages very interesting, perhaps interesting enough to pick up the new testament to read myself.

Be Teachable: “Listen to advice and accept instruction, and in the end you will be wise. ” – Proverbs 19:20, New International Version

Doing Our Personal Best: “Whatever your hand finds to do, do it with all your might.” Ecclesiates 9:10, New International Version

Want a free copy?

  • Simply leave a comment and you’ll automatically be entered in the draw for a free copy.
  • Please only 1 comment entry / person (please enter a valid email address).
  • Only those with a North American mailing address may enter (publisher rules, sorry).
  • Contest will end Thursday 5pm EST May 15, 2008 and the winner announced shortly afterwards!

Find out how you can save an additional 4% on this book from Chapters.

Update:  Entries are now closed.

48 Comments

  1. The Financial Blogger on May 13, 2008 at 8:18 am

    Interesting principles. I guess that if you are able to link your faith to your financial habits, you might become very wealthy. Most of the time, people failed their financial plan because they give it up.

    The Christian twist maybe the sparkle that will lit up the motivation to another level… who knows?



  2. cbez on May 13, 2008 at 9:04 am

    This book sounds like a very interesting read! Thanks for posting it.



  3. Laura on May 13, 2008 at 9:05 am

    This book looks great! Thanks for a great blog.



  4. Debt_Free_in_5 on May 13, 2008 at 9:22 am

    I would love a copy



  5. Colleen on May 13, 2008 at 9:31 am

    The title is great. You gave us insight into the moral aspects of the book and I’m looking forward to learning if the author has anything to add to the basics of personal finance.



  6. Gloria on May 13, 2008 at 10:06 am

    This book sounds interesting. Thanks for sharing it with us.



  7. David on May 13, 2008 at 10:30 am

    Your post caught my attention! I am always on the look out for resources that integrate faith with real life. This book sounds like it might just fit the bill.



  8. Joshua on May 13, 2008 at 10:52 am

    I’m an active Christian and would love to learn, in more detail, what the bible says about investing and finances in general! Sign me up for a W!



  9. rab on May 13, 2008 at 10:54 am

    Always interested in financial info from a spiritual perspective. Thanks for the review.



  10. DRA on May 13, 2008 at 11:02 am

    Well the title certainly catches your attention! Especially since I am heading to be vasectomized at 230 today!! [no, I’m not kidding!!!]

    Good to see another Christian book about finance. You may wanna check out http://www.financialfoundations.com



  11. MAC on May 13, 2008 at 11:05 am

    Great review, count me in for a free copy!

    MAC



  12. AP on May 13, 2008 at 11:38 am

    Thanks for the review. It has definitely peaked my interest. Would love to read it.



  13. Elaine Tarrant on May 13, 2008 at 11:40 am

    Can’t wait to read it!



  14. Daniel on May 13, 2008 at 11:46 am

    If I win can I get another title?



  15. Oscar on May 13, 2008 at 11:49 am

    I would like to read this book.
    Thanks.



  16. Digger on May 13, 2008 at 11:51 am

    You don’t see many books that link finances and faith. I guess people are afraid to talk about both of these things with their friends. I’m glad that someone has written this book. It looks like an interesting one.



  17. Blitzkrieg on May 13, 2008 at 11:56 am

    Looks like an interesting take on finance, and the link to faith might actually be enough to get my wife to read a financial book!



  18. Elizabeth on May 13, 2008 at 12:02 pm

    Sounds interesting…. I’d love to have a read.



  19. Ringo on May 13, 2008 at 12:08 pm

    Hope that I won’t find many (and big) holes in my own bags after reading the book!



  20. Geoff on May 13, 2008 at 12:40 pm

    That title is nice reminder for me:

    No matter how much you make – if you’ve got holes in your bag, over time you’re gonna be penniless.

    Count me in for the draw! :)



  21. Yuriy on May 13, 2008 at 12:46 pm

    Very interesting! I would like to read about prospoerity principles derived from Christian texts.



  22. Hank on May 13, 2008 at 1:23 pm

    Sounds like an interesting book



  23. Acint on May 13, 2008 at 1:23 pm

    I like to get a free copy. Book sounds interesting but I don’t know if religion and finance can be mixed together.



  24. Jonathan on May 13, 2008 at 1:42 pm

    The Bible has over 2,300 passages relating specifically to money, wealth and possessions. It is more than worth your while to dig into it a little. The info is priceless.

    Thanks for the book offer. I’d love to get a copy.



  25. Chad on May 13, 2008 at 1:47 pm

    count me in for the draw



  26. Andrew on May 13, 2008 at 2:11 pm

    Sounds like a great book! I’d like to be entered in the drawing.



  27. David on May 13, 2008 at 3:35 pm

    Sounds like a good book, and an interesting “movie” name if you know what I mean…. wink wink



  28. JME on May 13, 2008 at 4:41 pm

    Sounds like an interesting book



  29. Brenna on May 13, 2008 at 6:37 pm

    Sounds good to me. Count me in



  30. Mai on May 13, 2008 at 7:18 pm

    I’am in for the poll :)



  31. Marc on May 13, 2008 at 7:52 pm

    I would love to see what this book has to say.



  32. Tina on May 13, 2008 at 7:59 pm

    I am intrigued as it sounds like a very different take on the usual financial advice. Please count me in for the draw!



  33. Mike on May 13, 2008 at 8:58 pm

    I saw a review of this book elsewhere and thought it looked interesting – count me in!



  34. Triple_Eh on May 13, 2008 at 9:46 pm

    Would like to read this! Thanks for the opportunity!



  35. guinness416 on May 13, 2008 at 11:46 pm

    I read the excerpts over at FMF’s blog, and it’s odd to me how the US-style Christianity is so different from the Catholic culture I grew up with in Ireland. But I’m always up for being outraged, so please drop my name in the hat.



  36. heather on May 14, 2008 at 12:15 am

    I enjoy reading your blog – this book looks interesting!!



  37. AndrewP on May 14, 2008 at 12:26 am

    Financial AND spiritual…sounds like a good combination!



  38. Elvis K on May 14, 2008 at 1:16 am

    As a passive Christian myself, this looks like a great read, I’ll enter.

    Great site FT, I just started reading about a month ago, and I only subscribe to 3 sites and MDJ is one of ’em. Keep it up.



  39. Jill on May 14, 2008 at 2:17 am

    I love reading financial books as well as spiritual ones… this would be an interesting read!

    I checked the local library and it’s not yet available, so please count me in the for the draw!



  40. Mihai on May 14, 2008 at 2:31 am

    I’d like to read the book.



  41. Michael_S on May 14, 2008 at 1:09 pm

    Please add me in. Thanks.



  42. James on May 14, 2008 at 2:36 pm

    This looks interesting.



  43. Bob on May 14, 2008 at 2:45 pm

    The book looks interesting. Great blog.



  44. Anton on May 14, 2008 at 6:00 pm

    Great blog and book review… looks interesting, hope I win the book.



  45. Henry on May 14, 2008 at 6:03 pm

    There are no passive Christians. You either live your faith or you don’t.



  46. Elvis K on May 15, 2008 at 5:40 am

    Henry, relax. What I mean is, I believe in the principles of Christianity, but I don’t preach it to everyone I meet or talk to and I’m not at Church every Sunday.

    I don’t want to make this blog post about religion so lets get off that topic….It’s about a great book I want to read….I’m hoping for that book!!!



  47. Dividend Growth Investor on May 15, 2008 at 1:09 pm

    Million Dollar Journey,

    Sign me up!



  48. Kaitlin M on May 15, 2008 at 1:39 pm

    Fingers crossed…I’d love to read this.